We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - outstanding vaule”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Fl.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel - outstanding vaule”
Reviewed July 6, 2007

Our family has vacationed in Lake George several times and this hotel is by far the best value we have found. Our room was spacious, comfortable, had all the amenities we needed (including fridge and coffee maker) and, most importantly, was impeccably clean. The pool was much larger than that of other places we've stayed and we found it to also be very well taken care of. The hotel itself has a great location as it is close to the state beach as well as all other attractions. The staff was friendly and quite helpful. Overall a very nice place and an even better value!

  • Liked — Overall value and cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tmpfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    165
    73
    16
    15
See reviews for
226
132
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2006

For the price you can't beat this place. It was spotless and in a perfect location with a great view of the hills. The staff was very helpful giving us much needed directions to the attractions. There are alot of rundown hotels in the area so be careful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Super clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chi-Town-Folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

We just visted the area oct. 14th for a weekend getaway. The room was VERY clean. Which was nice. The staff was friendly. We loved that there was a fridge in the room. I didn't find it noisy at all, but it is the slow season. I also didn't think it was walking distance to downtown. (Where's the sidewalk??) My only complaint would be that the bathroom is SMALL. and if your're big, bring a shoehorn and a bottle of crisco so someone can pull you off the toliet. Not all motels are so clean though, so that alone is worth any price.

  • Liked — It's CLEAN!
  • Disliked — Small bathrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Go to pirates cove mini-golf - it's a riot!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank bigtripper06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

My family and I stayed there in August of 2004 & 2005. Both experiences were great. The staff was very nice. The woman who had to close down the pool at 9 was very nice also. She was apologetic that it was 9 pm and she let our kids go for one last swim.
We needed extra towells and we weren't given a hassle at all like some places. Whoever talked about the noisy street etc.....I guess you must have been there on a bad night. I was outside my room at 12 am and the street was quiet. If you hear some car noise, what do you expect? I'm sure you hear car noise with every hotel there because they are all basically on the street. Staying at this motel we got discount Great Escape tickets. We got them for $25.00 each instead of the $37.99 they charged at the park. That was a savings of $52 for us. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BDOUG23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2005

I read a number of good reviews on this Hotel, but now that I have stayed there I have a different point of view. Its a basic average hotel in need of improvements.
Rooms are very basic, we did have a refrigerator and coffee maker in working condition. There is no radio in the room only a clock. Our room smelled heavily of mildew upon arrival, we remedied that with the purchase of an air freshener and the odor was gone in a few hours. The bathroom was very basic and in need of new fixtures and spucing up. Its dated and worn.
The continental breakfast was a joke, prepackaged doughnuts and muffins that had been out since 7pm the previous evening. We passed on it and went out for breakfast.
The street is very noisy, you have 4 lanes of traffic right outside the hotel and the traffic does not calm down until after midnight. Then it will start up again by 6am, if your a light sleeper you won't rest much in this location.
On the plus side, I understand that they have remodeled bathrooms in the hotel, but we had one of the rooms that had not been done yet.
Not sure if I would stay here again, given that its over $100 a night, you are paying for the location of being within walking distance to Lake George Village and Million Dollar beach.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank bike_manBethel_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2005

The Super 8 is well located on Canada Street with the road down to Million Dollar Beach directly across the street. We took advantage by staying parked at the motel and taking the short walk to the beach. Our room had 2 double beds, a dresser, a table and 2 chairs inside, a table and 2 chairs outside on the balcony and a fairly large sized fridge. The bathroom is small but does have a window for natural light and marble tiles around the tub. Everything was very clean. A complimentary breakfast is provided in the lobby. It consisted of muffins, donuts, yogurt, orange juice and coffee or tea. There is not much seating but you can carry it back to your room. The pool is well kept but located close to the busy street. There is also a childrens play area and picnic table (with a grill) for guest use behind the motel. Unlike the Travelodge in Lake George where we also stayed, there is no view.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank themoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2005

We stayed at the Super 8 as part of a bus tour. This is a very nice, clean motel, convenient to local attractions. The owners were very personable, and attentive. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the motel, and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.5 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#21 of 89 in Lake George
555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#16 of 89 in Lake George
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Lake George/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lake George/Downtown

Property: Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Address: 2159 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#18 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lake George/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the base of Prospect Mountain, in the heart of vacation land, Super 8 Lake George Downtown is on the border of the Adirondack Wilderness and the exciting Lake George Downtown. Less than half a mile from the shores of Lake George, many area attractions and restaurants are just a short walk away. While you are still in all the action, you will also find plenty to enjoy on the property as well. Just a few of our amenities include a heated pool, nightly fire pit, continental breakfast, basketball court, picnic area, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Lake George/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown Hotel Lake George
Super Eight Lake George
Lake George Super Eight
Lake George Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing