We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Lake George/Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Schenectady, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently spent a casual August weekend up at the hotel and was treated with the upmost respect from the Super 8 staff. Very convenient in regards to service and the room was spotless with everything in great shape, bathroom especially. Spent some time by the newly added fire pit at night which is a great feature to the property in addition to the swimming pool. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone who is spending time up in scenic Lake George and is seeking friendly service at an affordable rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    155
    72
    15
    14
See reviews for
204
126
20
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

I just stayed here in August with my 3 young children. First of all, they put us in a room on the front side right near the road, the noise was horrible. When we went inside, the fridge was not working, and I opened it, it smelled disgusting! The carpet was disgusting, and with a crawling baby, I could not put her down to crawl around. The room was dirty, there were dried boogers on the wall next to the bed and the shower was gross. Lets not to mention the dirty sheets, creepy crawly. I told the owners of this, and they wouldn't do anything about it, they didn't even refund my money. I plan to take them to court to get my money back . Please, please, don't stay here! They say "its the cleanest in lake george" absolute BS!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
josie22, Owner at Super 8 Lake George/Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with us. As you can tell by our other reviews, your experience is not typical. I would like to discuss specifics of your stay with you, as I have never spoke to you other than one email and have been unable to reach you on several occassions by phone,perhaps our contact information is incorrect.
We value all of our guests feedback very much and thank you for your comments. We are sorry your stay with us did not meet your expectations and look foward to discussing further with you.
Thank You,
Vinnie Crocitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

On Labor day weekend we had to make an unexpected trip to Lake George. We booked on line what we thought was the Super 8 in Lake George. Upon arrival we find out we booked the Queensbury hotel. Which only had a smoking room available. Carolyn at the front desk was so helpful. She made phone calls to find us another hotel in the area that had a vacancy on a holiday weekend. I was so surprised at the time and energy she took to help us out. We weren't even staying there. I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 10 years and I'm never disappointed. Carolyn really impresses us.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2Cooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a very nice reasonably priced motel in the Lake George area. You can tell that the rooms had been recently renovated and the housekeeping staff kept them very clean. All of the staff were very friendly. The towels are very soft, which is a nice plus (but don't steal them!). There is a nice continental breakfast with limited seating but you can take it to the outside picnic tables or back to your room. The motel is located within walking distance of the village and the beach and across the street from a water park. The heated pool, basketball hoop and swings are enough to keep the kids occupied in between outings.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stay at this motel everytime we come to Lake George. The last time we were here was in June, 2010. Since we were here last they have made some awesome changes!! They have renovated lots of their rooms and they are beautiful. They also made a lot of changes to the actual property. They added so much more grass and it make it feel park like. They put in a beautiful area to eat breakfast outside but the thing we loved the most was the outside fire pit.... It was so great to be able to sit by a fire in the cool August evenings. Everything they have done made the motel more of a resort. They have basket ball, cool playground, lots of picnic tables, heated pool and a new fire pit! The continental breakfast was more than enough. We really enjoyed ourselves and can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

At first I was impressed with the appearance of the grounds. Its beautifully landscaped!! We were warmly greeted by the owners and made to feel very welcome. The rooms were spotless!! The location was close to all the area has to offer. Its a little more than a Continental breakfast with the waffles, yogurt and cereal offered. This Motel offers discounts to many of the local restaurants.
This was well worth the value and would highly recommend it.
Michael and Marie

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colton, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Just made reservations for our fall 2012 stay at Super 8 Lake George /Downtown.It's so nice to return year after year to a location & surroundings we are comfortable with. My wife and I have been coming here since before it was Super 8.Owners Jodie & Vinnie have made many improvements over the years,much to the customers benefit.We have stayed up to three times a year,from two to ten nights .Just wanted to say THANKS to Jodie for always getting us our reservation dates and especially for our favorite room (#127). And to both for keeping up such great standards on a consistant basis.See you soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
3.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#15 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#18 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Lake George/Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Lake George/Downtown

Property: Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Address: 2159 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lake George
#18 Family Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Lake George/Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the base of Prospect Mountain, in the heart of vacation land, Super 8 Lake George Downtown is on the border of the Adirondack Wilderness and the exciting Lake George Downtown. Less than half a mile from the shores of Lake George, many area attractions and restaurants are just a short walk away. While you are still in all the action, you will also find plenty to enjoy on the property as well. Just a few of our amenities include a heated pool, nightly fire pit, continental breakfast, basketball court, picnic area, and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Super 8 Lake George/Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown Hotel Lake George
Super Eight Lake George
Lake George Super Eight
Lake George Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing