We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High price low value”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #129 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“High price low value”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I will give one extra star that some others who are cursing this place (can't blame them) only because the dishes we order happened to be ok taste wise. Else this is a ridiculously high priced place for pathetic value. Cheap plates, average food, low on hygiene, coffeee served in paper cups and you charge $18 per entree!!!!!! Give me a break!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akshay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    4
    5
    6
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
“The best place to bring your worst enemy.”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

>Owner was yelling at the poor staff (some of whom looked terrified).
>No naans because apparently the maker wasn't working.
>The rotis looked like the mass produced store-bought ones.
>Chicken was stale and everything smelt of vomit.
>Couldn't even eat the food because it was just so disgusting.
>Absurdly overpriced, way more expensive than the best in NYC.
>If you want what will possibly be your worst dining experience, you know where to come.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
1 review
“Horrible place...do yourself a favor and never go”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Horrible service and horrible hookah. My wife and I went to have a few beers and some hookah. The beer was brought to the table half full and when we brought it back they looked at us like we were crazy for asking for a full beer. The hookah tasted horrible and after complaining twice we were told that it was a new hookah and it was fine. THE HOOKAH WAS UN-SMOKEABLE AND THE SHISHA TASTED OLD!!! At no point did the owner bother to do anything about the problem besides come out and tell us it would taste better if we kept smoking it. Really poor ownership. Will never go there again!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive, awful and worst service!! Strongly NOT RECOMMENDED!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We recently had dinner in this AWFUL restaurant during the memorial day weekend.

Cons:

1. Poor customer service. Takes long time to serve the food. If you are lucky, you will get the same food you have ordered. Most of the customers got the food which is not ordered.

2. Taste is terrible. The quality and appearance of the food was unpleasant.

3. The quality of spoons and plates creates a thought whether they wash and clean the utensils.

4. Price is over charged for the poor quality food.

The food we ordered were: Naan (very small in size), Vege Briyani (poor taste) and Mutter Paneer...(paneer was powedered and taste was horrible)..

Conclusion:

Do not choose this restaurant.

Please dont go to any indian restaurant as they are greedy and over charged. If you visit any american / italian restaurant you will spend only 50% of what you will spend in indian restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ramjiqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Awful service, awful food AND expensive!”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We went there because there was no other Indian restaurant in the area open for Memorial Day weekend. We waited to get seated and then waited to order. Appetizer came 30 min later. Dinner came 1 hour later and our order was straightforward and small. The portions were small and the palak paneer was so salty that it was impossible to eat. But what was most upsetting was the service. We have 2 young kids who were very hungry and I know for a fact that the 3 tables around us that were seated and ordered after us got their food first! The main server or owner offered no apologies and every time we asked, they just kept saying your food is coming. In summary, bad service, bad food and very expensive- we spent $100 for 4 and left hungry! I am not one to spend time writing reviews but listen to me and stay away from this place! A slice of pizza or McDonalds is better!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing