We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happily surprised”

Giovanna's on the Lake
Ranked #76 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Giovanna's On The Lake restaurant is an Italian Steak House featuring hand cut steaks, seafood, nightly specials and a new Early Bird Menu 5-9PM. Located right on Lake George at The Georgian Lakeside Resort. Also serving breakfast daily and lunch on the patio at The lake front Cabana Bar.
NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Happily surprised”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was at The Georgian for a work event and we had dinner provided. I had ordered the broiled salmon and it was absolutely fantastic. It came with rice a selection of mixed vegetables. Everything was wonderful. A coworker had ordered the strip steak and she said it tasted good, but that it was very tough. I think part of the reason she had difficulty eating it was that a steak knife was not provided and she had to cut it with a butter knife.

What was surprising was that I had given my dessert to one of the gentlemen at my table because it was cake and I have a gluten allergy. The waitress heard me tell him this, and came out with a gluten free cupcake! Another waitress told me that they had a selection of gluten free desserts in the kitchen so that I could have a different one every night. I thought it was very, very nice. Even though the cupcake was not the best thing ever, I was still touched.

The next morning there was a breakfast buffet with eggs, bacon, pastries, and fruit. This was also good.

Lunch was difficult for me as the choices were chicken parm and a penne alfredo, both of which I could not eat. However I had some lovely salad and mixed vegetables.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine71109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    44
    22
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service and quality of food at affordable prices”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent service and quality of food at affordable prices. Traveled solo and met up with family. The food was excellent. Service phenomenal. Couldn't ask for a better place to dine. And how wonderful that it was right next door to the Georgian Hotel.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I have this place figured out...”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Decor / Initial Impression:
If you have seen the Kubrick film, "The Shinning", you will feel like you are dining in the room they didnt have time to film in.

Wait Staff:
Very Friendly, but very dreary looking staff. I believe the man in the abercrombie hoodie that served our food may have been the chef. Not to be confused with the matradee who was wearing an off color GAP sweater who seated us. Our waitress however, as sweet as she was, took an unfortunate amount of time between the 4 occupied tables in the resturant to help us with water or more importantly, our check when trying to escape(20min)

Food:
Like a below average diner, they knew how to deliver frozen tasteless meal which was very apparently a 2 step cooking process, "place in microwave; heat for a while on high". Atleast at a diner you know what your getting and the bill dosent hit you too hard in the butt. However, at our resturant in question, they will charge you close to $20 for tomato paste in a bowl of squishy noodles with dry globs of chicken, but atleast they sprinkle what seems to be basil all over the rim of the plate to fancify it up!

Bottom Line:

Avoid unless you want below average diner food at a nice quality resturant price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlekc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wappingers Falls, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Family birthday party”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was for a family birthday party of about 35 people. LaToya was extremely helpful as this was planned remotely, never saw the restaurant. The food was excellent. They even provided the birthday cake. The view from the dining room, overlooking the lake, was great. The price was reasonable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claudia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ordered from the Prix Fixe menu. Terrific food and only $16.95 per person. Wow! Great views while you eat.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Glen_and_Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giovanna's on the Lake also viewed

 

Been to Giovanna's on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing