We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family motel on lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tea Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tea Island Resort
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Family motel on lake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The resort is located on a quiet part of the lake and has kayaks and paddle boats for guest usage. The property was well kept and the rooms were clean. The only issue we had was there was a misunderstanding with the person taking our reservation and had us coming the following week. This caused an overbooking situation that was rectified by the hotel owners who found us a room at their nephews motel The Park Lane right down the road on the lake. This actually worked out better for because The Park Lane had a pool which was great for my kids. Overall I would reccomend the tea island resort but when I return to lake George I will be staying at the park lane motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    36
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
48
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
ONT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We come to Lake George, NY to enjoy the smaller scale Six-Flags located here. It is still an awesome Six-Flags but with many more Mild and Intermediate rides for our family to enjoy. After enjoying our first night at the Country Inn & Suites (which is right behind the park) and the perfect spot to leave your car and walk into Six-Flags we were looking for a place on Lake George and stumbled across Tea Island Resort. How odd I thought, "the bedding in theses pictures looks exactly like the duvets at Country Inn"...When we travel, my top priority is spotlessly clean rooms (did the maid stint to help pay for University and people are gross in Hotels...) and Quality mattresses with a choice of pillows.
Tea Island is family owned and operated by Dave and Theresa, the new owners are very experienced in the hospitality business and it shows in the care, cleanliness, and by their visibility on the property to ensuring you find life jackets for the SUP boards, kayaks or peddle boats (all included with your stay). They were also there to help my son re string his fishing line and take some time to chat with my husband about places to eat! We were shown to the storage room for other games like horse shoes, badminton, whiffle ball, and the adjoining hot tub!

The resort is located in Boulder Bay, which is just north past the main Village of Lake George (exit 22 and keep to the left!). It is on a large, quiet bay, of very deep clear water, behind Tea Island so the winds, big waves and big boats with the parasailing, steam ship tours, water skiiers, etc are not a bother to your play but still enjoyable to watch. There is a hill to walk which will ensure you get your daily quota of exercise or you can drive down the path from the cottages. Our kids loved to roll down it! The Sandy beach and protected swimming area are perfect for digging and splashing, I stayed dry on the elevated deck over the boat slips to catch some unobstructed sun and peace.

Propane BBQ's are available to use and the ONLY reason i gave this resort a 4 Star rating. We anticipated an oven in the kitchenette to cook late night snacks - but BBQ nuggets and pizza worked out ok. If you are going to Six Flags stay here and ask the owners for parking help. They have a few tricks up their sleeves!

Lastly, this resort, while not huge is perfect, it was not crowded, I was able to get a sun deck chair easily, the beds were clean, comfortable and awesome after a long day of playing; the adjoining cabins were perfect for our family of 5 with 3 tweens. We will be back to play again soon.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 has 1 Queen bed in a separate room from the main area and can open up to adjoin to cabin 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Play_FIRST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

The owners are on site daily. Dave and Theresa are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The view is great and they offer paddle boats and kyaks at no charge. The location is perfect, close enough to town to walk but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREGFROMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tea Island is such a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for almost a week and it was so relaxing with such beautiful views! Our room looked right out over the lake, which was a delight to wake up to every morning! They rooms stayed nice and cool and and had a nice desk where my husband set up his on the road office. Wonderful staff and a great deck to lay on by the water with paddle boats! Cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Haddam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I recently stayed at the Tea Island Resort in Lake George for a wedding. The grounds were wonderful and quiet. They have grills for cooking, playscape for the kids. The rooms had a nice view of the lake and had a kitchen -which was very convenient. The lake was spectacular with the use of boats and kayaks. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east haddam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a great place to stay on the lake. It is very quiet and peaceful. They have all different types of watercraft such as paddle boats, kayaks, canoes etc at no charge. We had a room with a kitchen which was very handy. Can't wait to go back .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank limmye58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family of five (2 adults/3 teenagers) recently stayed at Tea Island for a wedding. Our accommodations were excellent - beds, kitchen efficiency, bbq grills and the sitting area right outside our room. But, what I liked most was the peaceful location right on the lake. The lake side amentiies were perfect. We enjoyed the beach and the large upper deck for sunbathing and looking out on the lake. There also was boating available to us at no extra charge and we took advantage of canoes, kayaks, paddle boats and waterboards. We were far enough from the village to have quiet when we wanted to relax, but close enough to head into town for meals, shopping, and entertainment (trolley stop right outside the resort). We didn't want to leave and our kids are begging us to return there again next year -

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janetj0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#8 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Shore Meadows Motel
Shore Meadows Motel
#16 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lake Motel
Lake Motel
#6 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Island Resort

Property: Tea Island Resort
Address: 3020 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Tea Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Tea Island Resort on Lake George for an unforgettable vacation! Enjoy our sandy beach and swimming in the crystal-clear waters of Lake George. You can relax in the sun on our lawn or boat house deck with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. At the Tea Island Resort, You are just 1 mile from all the attractions, dining, entertainment and fun. The Lake George Trolley will pick you up and drop you off in town, so you never have to drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tea Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing