We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best NY Vacation Ever!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Cottages
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family and I had an amazing time there. We went the last week of the Summer, and I said to myself that I have to leave a review before the end of the year so here goes....
From the moment we arrived, the friendly hello, from the owner - nay, the pleasant phone conversation we had when booking the place, everyone was very welcoming.
The grounds were great to hang out in every morning, and every day the kids found something else to do. Whether it was the ping pong table, the pool, riding around the grounds, or playing with the owner's puppy - it really is a very family-friendly place.
The cottage was roomy enough for us to hang out in during the evenings, and the beds comfortable.
There were so many housewares left for us in the kitchen, and all the cottages had BBQs outside of them.
And the location was perfect - within walking distance of the Fort and the lake - really convenient
A heated pool, a fire pit - what more could a family man ask for? :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Mountain View Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 50 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were a lttle nervous staying here after "Tavdog" put up a bad review but we went anyway and boy are we glad that we did. I felt like I was in a Norman Rocklwell painting. There were several families socializing while their children were playing. It's a great set up in a worry free environment for parents. Mountain View is very clean and tastfully decorated but we will come back just to see Vinny and Mary. Our hosts could not have been any more thoughtful. They were constantly checking up on guests and Vinny worked the campfire until the guests went to bed. I didn't see any of the conditions that "Travdog" spoke about and considering what I experienced as well as all of the other guests, it's possible that "Tradog" was a plant from a competitor in the area. If so, I hope that all campgrounds aspire to reach the level of satisfaction that we had at Mountain View. Thanks Vinny and Mary, see you soon.

Room Tip: Check out the web site to get an idea of how conveniently they are located.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My husband & I & our 4 children just returned from a week at Mountain View. What a great stay we had!! The location is perfect...very quiet yet in walking distance to the village. The set up of having playground in middle of all the cabins was great for our children, who were able to play with the friends they quickly made, yet we were able to keep an eye on them. The cabin was clean & spacious. The staff was helpful & accomodating. Fellow campers (many who have been coming for years) were very friendly. We have been to Lake George many times in the past but this was our first time at Mountain View. We will definitely be back...what a memorable vacation!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lb1973slp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The cabin we are stayed in is absolutely run down, dirty and out dated. The kitchen consists of a rusted table and appliances that are at least 30 years old. The bedroom, like the rest of the cabin, has NO character as it consists of only a bed and a beat up old dresser. The only positive about this cottage is its location (besides being a half a block away from a cemetery). The cottage is centrally located to the downtown area which allowed us to leave the car home.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

The kids loved the heated pool and playground. Close enough to walk to Village and just enough distance for quiet fire camp fire nights. A walk around corner and down the street puts you right on main street and shore line of Lake. We dined out by walking every night.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

You couldn't ask for a better place to stay! Great location, wonderful staff, and a good value. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Lake George. Good place for family vacations or just a weekend getaway, and they are pet friendly too!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galecusan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our 1st family vacation since our dad died and it was awesome. Everyone else staying in the cottages were all nice and friendly and the kids loved the pool. Their were 3 other Andrews there for our Andrew to play with. We will come again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmochic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#18 of 89 in Lake George
587 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Cottages

Address: 1 Philips St, Lake George, NY 12845-1625
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Cottages are housekeeping cottages. This means all accommodations, cottages and motel units are complete living units with a porch, their own kitchens, bathrooms and bedroom(s). They are rented furnished. Rent for housekeeping cottages is not subject to sales tax provided: services such as house cleaning, maid, room, mail, entertainment, planned activities and other services commonly provided by hotels and motels are not provided by the leaser and the rental is at least one week (7 days). Bed linen is included, towels and personal toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.) are not. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing