We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family oriented and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mountain View Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mountain View Cottages
1 review
“Family oriented and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our 1st family vacation since our dad died and it was awesome. Everyone else staying in the cottages were all nice and friendly and the kids loved the pool. Their were 3 other Andrews there for our Andrew to play with. We will come again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmochic75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mohawk, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

We started going to the cottages last year on the 4th of July..we have been back 6 times since then! It's a great place to get away,,,the cottages are nice, everything you need! The owners are very accomodating and friendly...we have made several good friends that are like family to us. My family will have our annual family reunuion here this year and we will continue to come!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank guiness2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

I've been coming to the Mountain View every summer with my family my entire life, which is thirty years, and my family has been coming even longer, everyone knows us as "The Joyce's". And every year gets better and better! We've all been to Disney, various beaches, etc. but coming here is by far our favorite, we look forward to it all year long, and would rather come here vs any other place on Earth! It is our home away from home, every year we pull up and we are there five minutes and it feels like we never left. We have so so many memories, traditions, and have made so many friends there, there's no other place or feeling like it. My family personally rents out the big unit, and two to four additional cottages, it's so convenient to be so close to everyone and have everything you need there. We love grilling on the grills provided often for family dinners in eachothers cabins or the picnic tables! The pool is so nice, very clean, and refreshing in the day when it's hot, and relaxing and warm at night. Most of all we love the campfires and just sitting around talking and laughing, and/or making smores and hot dogs over an open fire! Very peaceful set back near the woods, yet two blocks from the village, shopping, fine dining, the nightlife, and so so much to do and fall in love with! Well I could go on and on, but it would all root back to the same thing, Mountain View Cottages is and always will be my home away from home! An dthe new owners that took over are fantastic! I miss the original owners dearly but Mary, Vinny, and family are very friendly, hospitable, and making much needed changes and updates without changing the warm atmosphere! Cannot wait until August!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Leanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

In walking distance to everything the Village has to offer. Fire Pit every night to sit around with family. Perfect place to rent out multiple cabins with friends and family for a reunion type vacation, or every year family vacation.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom units have a living room. A laundry mat is right down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 days in August. The cottages are a short walking distance to the main street in Lake George, but what a difference those few blocks mean when it comes to spending quiet time away from all the traffic and noise. Our cottage backed onto the woods, and it was a really peaceful and enjoyable stay. It was a wonderful alternative to staying in a motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank len p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

My family had a blast. It was a clean friendly environment. We forgot our towels but the owners supplied us with some. The location was perfect, close enough to walk into town but far enough to enjoy the campfire at night listening to ghost stories. The cost is very reasonable in comparison to the nearby areas.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchangelMiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I was not that impressed in the cottages and the amenities that they offered. I think that they need to update the playground and fix up the pool a little, other wise my daughter had a good time. The only great thing was that it was close to town which was great!! If you stay you need to pack towels, toilet paper, dish towels, and extra bed sheets. If they fix up the place by next year maybe we will come back.

Room Tip: bring extra towel and bed sheets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurnadoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake George
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Cottages

Property: Mountain View Cottages
Address: 1 Philips St, Lake George, NY 12845-1625
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain View Cottages are housekeeping cottages. This means all accommodations, cottages and motel units are complete living units with a porch, their own kitchens, bathrooms and bedroom(s). They are rented furnished. Rent for housekeeping cottages is not subject to sales tax provided: services such as house cleaning, maid, room, mail, entertainment, planned activities and other services commonly provided by hotels and motels are not provided by the leaser and the rental is at least one week (7 days). Bed linen is included, towels and personal toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.) are not. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing