We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude people, bad services.”
Review of Saddle Up Stables

Saddle Up Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saddle Up Stables is one of the oldest riding stables in the Adirondacks. We offer a large selection of horses from beginners to experienced riders. Enjoy a scenic trail ride that offers a beautiful view overlooking Lake George from top of the mountain. Rides last about an hour and leave at anytime between the hours of 9 to 5. No reservations taken. Pony rides available for the little ones.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The personal is rude! We stopped by Saddle Up Stables for information and inquired about a few horses we'd like to ride. We were explained that kids can ride the horse they'd like and the adults as well. That was before we paid $192. The story got changed after we've paid. When I've asked for the horse i previously inquire...., the answer was 'MAYBE'. Than i was told that i am to heavy to ride that horse, and eventually the question followed "Do you want to ride what i give you OR ?" I was on my way to cancel the transaction, but we had kids... so i had to swallow and proceed. It all was happening front of the kids!!! That was rude and disrespectful! I am 145 lb person who previously inquired about this particular horse and it was given ok. In addition, when we inquire for information we were told that any pictures can be taken. We were NOT allowed to take camera or phone with as or get any pictures at any point! I was extremely disappointed with all experience. Would not recommend to anyone.

9  Thank Tatyana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaddleUp1, Owner at Saddle Up Stables, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

In response to the lady who was upset because she didn't get the horse of her choice:
If you have previously ridden a horse at our stable we will try our best to let you ride that horse again. However on your first trip to our stable, you may not be able to ride just any horse of your choice. First of all, not any staff member can make the decision of what horse you want to ride. You can't randomly tell an employee what you want to ride. Perhaps they told you "maybe", but they aren't the ones that actually choose your horse. Only the management personnel may choose your horse based on several things, including your ability, your body shape, height and weight. A lot of people get the impression that a smaller horse is best suited for their child. That is NOT true in most cases. Size has nothing to do with the gentleness of a horse.
As far as cell phones and cameras....Can you drive a car and manage to text and/or take a photo while you are keeping your hands on the steering wheel without any consequences? An inexperience rider, needs to concentrate on riding their horse, maintaining a proper position, keeping hands on the reins and being alert at all times. You never know what can happen while riding a horse out in the woods. Plus, you could drop your phone and/or cameras making the guide have to stop and pick it up and could even damage your item.
You need use common sense and let the stable management do their job in providing you with the safest horse and ride possible. We really do try to accommodate everyone, but we make decisions based on safety first. At the end of the ride we do our best in making sure everyone gets their picture taken if you don’t have someone to take them for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 65 of 123 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2014

We initially stopped by and just did the hand led pony ride, which our two year olds loved, and our older girls enjoyed riding a real horse for the first time (8 and 13). It was a little expensive at $15 for the older girls each and $10 for the little kids. I had been reluctant to do the hour long trail, especially after reading some reviews that said it was scary, steep and close to the cliff edge (all of which turned out to NOT be our experience at all) but the bigger girls kept asking if we could go back.

The hour long scenic trail was so much better value than the pony rides for the big kids ($48 a person). They loved it and have not stopped talking about it. It was a gentle ride, with horses that were incredibly well trained and knew exactly what to do with three of us that had never ridden before. The trail through the woods was peaceful and very pretty, with a nice view of the lake at one point. My youngest was very nervous at first but soon overcame that and had no trouble with the parts of the trail that went up or down hill.

Our guide was great. Very attentive and made sure we staid in our saddles correctly. My girls loved chatting with her and she was great with all their questions, even down to "Do horses cut the cheese?"

The stars of the show though were of course our horses, Anna, Scooter and Chevy. Because none of us had ridden, they gave us very experienced horses. They knew the trail so well, and never lost their footing. When a deer ran across our path they didn't even startle.

Overall, this was a unique experience and I would thoroughly recommend it.

7  Thank usa789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very professional and warm, they made sure that we were situated well on the horses before we went out on the trail. The grounds were well kept and the whole experience was just amazing. I would highly recommend this stable.

Thank Hues G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Friendly staff.
Beautiful, well behaved horses.
And a very relaxing ride through the woods and hills.
(Even in the rain)

1  Thank vonpt93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

the horse ride was enjoyable. the horses are well trained. you take the trail in the mini forest. one guide will ride with 5 guests. You follow the guide on your horse. it is not a difficult trail, but you feel little bit afraid when the trail gets narrow in some places. I heard that one of the horse got antsy when on trail while on a ride with another visitor. My only complaint is that it is quite expensive, $50 for one ride of about 45 mins to 1 hour. the guide Kelly who was with us was very friendly and nice.

1  Thank abachhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Up Stables also viewed

 

Been to Saddle Up Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing