We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see a slice of the Adirondacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saddle Up Stables

Saddle Up Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saddle Up Stables is one of the oldest riding stables in the Adirondacks. We offer a large selection of horses from beginners to experienced riders. Enjoy a scenic trail ride that offers a beautiful view overlooking Lake George from top of the mountain. Rides last about an hour and leave at anytime between the hours of 9 to 5. No reservations taken. Pony rides available for the little ones.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great way to see a slice of the Adirondacks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The family that has run this stable for years has done a nice job maintaining the trails.The horses were well taken care of, and steady on the trail. We had 7 riders aged 9 to 47, of varying experience levels. It was a great experience!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    37
    8
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Well kept horses, relaxing ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Lovely trail ride through the forest, only saw one view, but it was still super enjoyable regardless, and I'd live to go again. The horses are very well cared for, and the trail guides are helpful with tips for riding and managing the horses. Good for all levels, no reservations were required. Restroom was a port-a-potty (at least it was clean). I dont think they like you taking cameras, and to be honest it would be a bit tricky to be taking pictures whilst riding the horse anyway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Biagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a wonderful ride with a helpful guide and responsive horse. They make a great effort to match the right horse with each rider. Reasonably priced. Lovely ride with beautiful view of the lake. Would love to visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doxibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saugerties,ny
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“First time riders.....very pleased”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My husband and I decided to go horseback riding for our 32nd wedding anniversary. Neither of us had ever really rode a horse before, the staff at Saddle Up was great! We were given a size and experience appropriate horse, and taken on a beautiful trail ride along with another younger couple. The trails wind thru the Adirondack forest, up hills, and down hills. We did stop for a very short time at the overlook of Lake George, which was spectacular. Our guide was knowledgable about the area and the horses. When we were in Lake George it was about 90 degrees but the trails are nicely shaded and not hot at all. We will be doing this again in the Fall when the foliage changes.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadkinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could not have been more pleased.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

The team, horses, prices and atmosphere were all perfect. I would highly recommend the Stables for kids and adults.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rp0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saddle Up Stables also viewed

 

Been to Saddle Up Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing