We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Fun Restaurant” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of A & W Root Beer Drive-In

A & W Root Beer Drive-In
Ranked #21 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: May also be called A&W Drive-In
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Family Fun Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had lunch at A&W, and enjoyed sitting outside on the picnic tables. The food was good, and it was a nice break. My kids ordered root beer floats, and loved them. You can even have a choice of ordering them in the AW glass mug, and taking one home as a souvenir. Nothing fancy, but a good place to get some burgers, fries etc.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pab427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    57
    17
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
“Authentic 50's Style A&W”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This A&W is an authentic, old fashioned joint with car service (food tray on your car's windowsill) and a friendly atmosphere. The burgers are not ground beef as found in the modern A&W chain restaurant, but rather are ground steak. I like a typical A&W burger but there is a big difference here and it was delicious. We also had regular fries and sweet potato fries, both crispy and tasty. Priced like any regular A&W, this was a good value with car service and ground steak burgers. Definitely the right place for a quick and delicious bite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“" Get It To Go - And Head For The Lake "”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

this is really the BEST food in lake george, forget about the LG tourist trap restaurants . We love to bring our dog, she knows when they come and take our order at the truck she is getting her little mini corn dog's !! and the price is just right , They're Grrrreat !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janell k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh, fun & friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The food is your basic burger and fries, with the welcome addition of really fresh toppings and efficient, friendly service. Very welcoming to families with children. My only "complaint" is that the small root beer float is enormous! Kids could not finish. Make sure you visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisynyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Street, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We ate at this place more than once. We loved the food and the outside atmosphere. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TwinsMom1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A & W Root Beer Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to A & W Root Beer Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing