We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be better”

The View Restaurant & Bay Bar
Ranked #64 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
melbourne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Used to be better”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I really like the atmosphere at this casual breakfast or lunch café. I used the love the salads, but the last 3 visits has proven that the portions have decreased and the prices have gone up! Around $21 for a normal size salad is a little pricey for my liking.
The meat platter we shared on the last visit was so disappointing that we may not go back - which is so upsetting as I used to love going there!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jrg200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at The View Restaurant & Bay Bar, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Jrg200,
I thank you for the review but feel you might have mistaken us for another venue. We were not opened in January for Breakfast/Lunch. Our only service at that time of the year was dinner. We also do not have what you refer to as a meat platter. Is you happen to visit us in the future please call your attention to us as "The View" at Dunham's Bay Resort..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    13
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wynantskill, New York, United States
2 reviews
“5 Course Moonshine Dinner”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

YeeHaw! What a dinner it was. On October 25, 2013, 10 friends and family from Wynantskill NY trekked up to Lake George for the Moonshine Dinner. We didn't really know what to expect, but General Manager Matt Taormino gave us a play by play on each course of the meal that Chef A.J. Richards prepared. The 32 mile green salad, Smoked Paprika Corn Chowda', Tomato Basil Corn Pomodoro with Homemade Pasta, main course choices of Alligator Sausage soaked in moonshine, Shine brined Fried Chicken, or Blackened Catfish were all delicious as per the folks at my table. The dessert of Open Apple pie was just the topper for all of the other wonderful dishes that were infused with the local moonshine prepared and delivered by Lake George Distilling Company. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxing, just perfect for a grand meal with good friends and family. As the table were set up for 8 at a table round, special arrangements were made by the Director of Operations, Richard Gordon, for all 10 of us to be seated comfortably together at a square table. Table visits were made by the Director of Operations to be sure we were having a good time, that we were enjoying ourselves, and ask if there was anything we needed. The Chef was amazing. He came out at the end and roamed table to table answering questions, and for one guest, ME, gave a recipe away for one of the courses. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for quality food, excellent service, and comparable prices. Bon Appetit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnanamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saranac Lake, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My friend and I were the only ones in the restaurant for lunch. We asked if we could sit outside (the weather and view of Lake George were beautiful) and were told no, I guess because it was off-season. I had a dried-out veggie burger that crumbled into little pieces. My dessert was an apple cake-like thing that was also dried out. The waitress was very pleasant, although, if I were her, I would have made the extra steps and served us outside. No one else was there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Janis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“unacceptable”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

the "view" shown on the website is not from any table I saw at this restaurant. Maybe the picture is from an outside table, maybe. The food, a spinach salad - spinach from a local CSA - was inedible. So many wilted/fermented leaves, neither my friend nor I could stomach it. Also the table water, despite having lemon added tasted like chlorine. I will say the wait staff was friendly, but when we complained about our meals all we got was a sheepish, "I'm sorry." I was looking for a restaurant with a nice view of the lake, what I got was an establishment I'll never return to and recommend you not go there either.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancypants57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Another one not worth it”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not worth what they charge and the food wasn't all that good. Other better places around for the same, if not less, money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Invasor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant & Bay Bar also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant & Bay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing