We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Sunday Brunch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The View Restaurant & Bay Bar

The View Restaurant & Bay Bar
Ranked #52 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Huntington,CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

The staff was very friendly as well as professional. There was a very good selection of food and pastry. Our personal omelets were cooked perfectly. The restaurant was nicely decorated and very clean. Great Brunch.
.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JerrilynK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    13
    6
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I have lived within 10 minutes of this place for 20 years and have always frequented there until recently when I find myself eating there 3-4 times a week. The Chef is doing everything right, because every single dish is A+. Seafood is always super fresh and the scallops are chock full of flavor. The nightly specials are usually the best bet as they are creative and delicious. Menu items change with the seasons as the chef only gets the freshest local ingredients. Highly recommended, and the view in my mind is the best on the lake. Very quiet atmosphere far enough away from all the tourists!! Go at sunset and watch the sun go down over the lake with a delicious meal, at a very reasonable price. By far the best restaurant in all of Lake George!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dunhamsbay, General Manager at The View Restaurant & Bay Bar, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear John C,
On behalf of Chef AJ Richards and his staff thank you so much for the kind words. We here at the resort are very proud of what we create in our kitchen. The menus are well thought out and a lot of care and consideration goes into all our food. Again thanks for taking what you consider to be a nice hide-a-way and sharing it with the public.

Matthew Taormino, HGM, GM
Dunham's Bay Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like eating in a friends basement”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Arrived for dinner and since the main area was booked for a wedding (they didn't tell us that when we booked a table) we ended up eating downstairs (no view) in the bar area with a crumbling ceiling above us. Food was ok, but overpriced. Wait service was excellent.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We were staying here for a wedding and expected the food to be ok. It was far better than that. Everything we had was excellent!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
“Fantastic Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The food, service and atmosphere was superior. Lots of delicious choices.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant & Bay Bar also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant & Bay Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing