We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ali Baba Express

Ali Baba Express
Ranked #44 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: They are basically Turkish, however they call themselves Mediterranean. Check out their site. Also the phone Number is 518-668-2037. Or simply check them out. They're great.
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Looking for dinner after an afternoon of white water rafting we happened upon this Mediterranean gem. My husband, myself and our 3 kids(11, 14, & 16) enjoyed the most delicious, fresh, hearth baked bread with tziziki sauce followed by gyros, curried chicken platters and huge glasses of sour cherry juice. Even my picky 11 year old son loved his food! The service was great as well!
We will return for sure if we get back to LG!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    78
    23
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
97 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ali Baba Express- Delicious and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were in Lake George only for the day, as we were visiting family in Lake Luzerne. We had no idea where to eat- as there are so many restaurants to choose from. And, we were so glad we chose Ali Baba Express. The Turkish bread - pronounced lavash- or for better description- puff bread- was a real surprise and delicious. The Greek salad was a chopped salad and was wonderful and we had a falavel sandwich, with just the right amount of everything. The host and servers were very friendly and the atmosphere inviting. I wish there was an Ali Bab closer to home!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irvwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top ethnic food in Lake George area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Tremendous Turkish food, unexpected in the Lake George area with so many standard tourist fare restaurants selling overpriced, mediocre fare. The lavash bread is a must. Chicken is cooked perfectly (moist and flavorful), lamb chops are delicious and all of the dishes are well seasoned. A gem of a find!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidU4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“best lake george has to offer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Am a local resident and have never had Turkish food. Was delighted at this lamb entree--------can't wait to return. definitely worth it..not spicy-just delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bde700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unusual and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

One thing we realized after moving to this area is it's hard to find ethnic cuisine that one can get in a more metropolitan area. Ali Baba was a pleasant surprise. The food is wonderful, Lavash breads baked in a brick oven in a few minutes. Greek salad is delicious, so are the Turkish dishes. If you are used to eating gyros in the diner, don't miss Ali Baba's gyro. It's huge, on fresh baked bread, full of meat, cucumbers, tomatoes, tazimi and spices. Top it off with baklava and Turkish coffee. Great atmosphere right across from the park in Lake George, the owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating. We try to go at least once a week for lunch and sometimes dinner too. I highly recommend it.

I am a new member of trip advisor who has been accused by the owner of Suzie Q's in Brant Lake in a rebuttal to my negative review of having ulterior motives and not reviewing his restaurant right after my last visit. If I had known trip advisor existed at the time we stopped going there, I would have. He seems to think I only publish negatives, he didn't respond to the actual problem I described and how my family was treated and he expressed concern that we might never be able to find a place we like to eat. Well, here it is. Another 10 minutes down the Northway and well worth the trip for the great experience you will have. I will publish a few more recommendations of GOOD restaurants in the area as well. Enjoy your trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ali Baba Express also viewed

 

Been to Ali Baba Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing