We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lake George Windsor Motel
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We recently spent a long weekend at the Windsor Motel for the Elvis/truck weekend. We find the motel to be the BEST location for walking into the Village, to the boat piers, and shopping, as parking is very limited and at meters. Elliott puts out an awesome continental breakfast every morning - fresh coffee, fruits, a good selection of bagels, etc., and always a different type of salad. This is your typical "mom and pop" motel - very clean, nothing fancy, but a very "homey" feel. Elliot and his wife are always very helpful and friendly - making everyone feel very welcome, and always available for light conversation. The pool is clean - always inviting!!! This is not our first stay here, and it will not be our last. We plan on coming back in August, and this is the only place we would consider staying at in Lake George. The rates are extremely reasonable for being at such a valuable location. Can't wait to return!!
The Anglers

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 41 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

We have stayed many times at the Windsor Motel with owner Elliott & wife Corey. They are warm fun loving people who run a great motel. The location is the best, walk to town, to the beach etc. The rooms are clean, the pool the best. Elliott's continental breakfast is so amazing and different. He makes a fruit salad that is unusual and tasty...

They are very friendly and make you feel at home....and eager to please. A great stay each time we go!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I took our children to Lake George for the first time this month. We were originally suppose to stay at another hotel, however, we needed to change our dates and could not find other accomadations that were in our budget in the time frame. We found the Windsor and it looked quaint online and after speaking with the owner, Elliot, we thought we were in for a pretty great spread as far as a free continental breakfast ( which consisted everyday of bagels cream cheese and watermelon ) no juice was offered for non coffee drinkers even... and access to the "large, private pool area" . we figured wth and went for it, the place is right in the heart of the village right!?! Well upon our arrival we were greeted with a shirtless, sweaty Elliot ( so professional right ). We went to our room to find a filthy, damp carpet, the air conditioner smelled of mold something awful. The beds were very uncomfortable and lumpy and the pillows were obviously old and flat. we asked the housekeepers to fill the complimentary soap in the shower which was never done. On top of all that small stuff there was a spanish family of about 15 people who were renting 3 rooms as well as the "condo". They were extremely rude with no regard for all the other guests. They had huge rafts, coolers, alcohol in the pool and were having a ton of fun smoking pot in a hookah poolside...not to mention climbing in and out of the "condo" windows and screaming, swearing and blasting their music. Myself as well as 4 additional rooms that we chatted with made numerous complaints to Elliot in regards to this matter because none of the other families could enjoy the pool ( which I could fill by spitting in it ) but NOTHING was done. The only positive thing I can say is that Elliot was very accomadating as far as his prices go...but had I known that our stay there would turn out the way it had I would have paid double to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ldubois78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innkeeper16, Owner at The Lake George Windsor Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

My husband and I remenember the person who wrote this last review (just sad;) In the 14 years my husband and I have owned this motel we have never had a guest smoking hookahs at the poolside; we are after all a family owned operation. My husband distinctly remembers the situation which caused him to be shirtless, he was removing an air conditioning unit that was not working properly and did not want to get his shirt dirty. He does not usually work the front desk half naked. We welcome people of all races, colors creed and religion, if some of our guests do not feel the same way, that is" just sad:)"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This little motel is in the heart of the Lake George Village and if you are looking for something reasonable in price, close to all the attractions, and that is hassle-free this is the place for you. The staff was extremely welcoming and friendly. They had a great sense of humor and I was even able to haggle the price a little bit. The rooms were nothing special, but if you are vacation you shouldn't be spending your time in the hotel anyway! As a place for strictly sleep it is perfect. The bed was comfortable, NO signs of bed bugs, and the bathroom tiles were nice and clean. There was nothing skeevy about this place. I know there was a pool, but I didn't end up looking at it. They served a small continent breakfast in the morning. Again, nothing fancy but the bagels and coffee were quite good. All in all, it was everything I was looking for on my short stay in the area and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ocean1185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Just came back from the Lake George Windsor Motel, it was perfect.
The location was the best did not have to drive anywhere, the staff was helpful and the room was always clean.

The pool was refreshing could not have wanted anything more.

Will make the Lake George Windsor my place whenever I visit Lake George and you should too.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjdefazio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

First time staying a drive up motel but felt right in Lake George to get the entire experience. Sorry, I forgot his name but the gentlemen who either owns or manages the motel was very attentive and helpful. Rooms were small but adequate, nice pool, good location to town. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sahmcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

My wife and I stay here every year during Americade in June, The owners are wonder pleasant down to earth people and are a pleasure to deal with year after year. Our room was nice, clean, quiet, and offers a small fridge, ac, tv and our room had a nice new queen size bed. the atmosphere is very homey where everyone says hello, good morning and good night , during bike week usually everyone sits out front at night together and watches the parade of bikes going by. We have also stayed there other than bike week and have recently stayed in the "apartment" at the back of the hotel property. With a seperate entrance and parking from the rest of the hotel available on a back road it offers 2 bed 1 bath eat in kitchin and living room. Plenty of space for a family to stay together. as far as location, FANTASTIC, short walk into town close to everything. I look forward each year to staying there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Squid30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.8 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#13 of 89 in Lake George
624 reviews
0.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#12 of 89 in Lake George
159 reviews
2.3 mi away
Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Downtown
Econo Lodge Downtown
#30 of 89 in Lake George
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lake George Windsor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lake George Windsor Motel

Address: 51 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $119 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Lake George Windsor Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fun fifties decor in a family atmosphere, with newly updated and renovated rooms. Check out our new heated pool and beautiful, secluded patio! We have a lovely green space with tall shade trees and picnic tables perfect for enjoying our free continental breakfast, or a family luncheon when you want a retreat from all the action. Across the street from the Fort William Henry, the Windsor Motel is a great choice for economical, quality lodgings in the hub of Lake George activities and events. We are a one minute walk to all the major amenities and activities in the village. Walk to fabulous, "Million Dollar Beach", all of the villages beautiful manicured parks, great restaurants and hot night-clubs. A five minute drive takes you to one of the largest theme park in the state, "The Great Escape" and her sister park, "Splash Water Kingdom". Also within five minutes is the "Million Dollar Mile" with factory outlets such as Ralph Lauren, Gap, Dansk, and many others to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lake George Windsor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing