We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shore Meadows Motel
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A few friends of mine, my girlfriend, and I stayed for one night. The stay was overall beyond my expectation. The rooms were clean, staff was friendly, and the premises was well equipped. There were a lot of amenities including a picnic area, charcoal grills, fire pit (cost of fire wood and charcoal included with the stay), and kayaks (not included with the stay). The location was convenient to downtown Lake George and the view of the lake from the lodge was very nice. The owner came up to greet us and made sure that our stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

New Owners have started upgrading all the rooms. They're very friendly and the staff was accomodating. Close to shopping and lots of restaurants. I go here every year in June for Americade. They reverted a portion of the leasing office into a large rental for a big group. I think it could sleep up to 10 or 12 people. It was very nice and my friends and I may plan a fall trip there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We rented a cabin and was pleasantly surprised. This cabin had a nice screened porch to fit 5 women around a modern glass table. The kitchen was well equipped including ice cubes in the freezer. The beds were comfortable, and we also had enough room in the living room to have two twin size air beds. Every room had been updated except for the bathroom which had a small sink, a dated tub, but plenty of hot water.
The property had a lovely view of the lake, a nice private beach with Adirondack chairs, a gazebo to drink our coffee in the morning, a fire pit for an evening of laughter, and kayak rentals.
We were sorry we couldn't stay longer, but we would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teacher3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Don't expect luxury because that's not what you're getting...but the rooms are decent, having been recently updated. Particularly the kitchenette, which is convenient to have, well updated and useful. Most important for our family was the location, which is really great. While it's walking distance to the extremely kitschy village of Lake George, you don't know you are close to the town while at the property. It's at the end of a dead-end street that ends at the lake. It's quiet, has a few hundred feet of lawn, leading down to a small private beach with good sand and calm water. Several charcoal bbq's and picnic tables, fire pit, kayaks to rent, etc. I think the facilities (~12 or 14 units) were full while we were there, but I only saw a few of the other guests - meaning the amenities (beach, fire pit, bbq's, tables, etc.) were always available and almost felt like our own while we were there. I was unexpectedly and positively surprised by all of that. The main reason I didn't give 5 stars is because the rooms are small, somewhat dimly lit, and some bathrooms are still quite dated in some units (but will be updated to match the other units, according to the owner/operator). Some of our family stayed in a second unit that did have the updated bathroom, and it's a big improvement - but the rooms are still small and have really old/dated art on the walls (which isn't a really big deal, but makes it feel more outdated than the refurbished rooms and kitchenettes really are). Also, the beds aren’t great, could use better mattresses and bedding. Would help to get a better sleep while you play during the day. You don't go to Lake George to stay in your hotel room (during the day, anyway), so all that is outweighed by the tremendous location, private feeling and a great ONSITE owner/operator. Ps. we were there in peak season - in the middle of August.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful vacation week at Shore Meadows. We stayed in the 3 bedroom home., complete with a deck and porch. We had a beautiful view of the lake. The beach and yard are well maintained. It is located an easy walk from the village and restaurants. The new owner,Mike and his onsite staff did everything to make our stay pleasant. we also took advantage of the kayaking service provided. I would definitely recommend Shore Meadows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had the most enjoyable week at Shore Meadows in the "Little Cabin on the Hill". Every morning I had my coffee on the screened-in porch and watched the morning unfold. So close to everything, but so private at the same time. Mike and his staff were a delight and very helpful whenever we needed something. Cabin was clean, comfy, and well-equipped. Beach, water, and the view couldn't be beat. Mike, congrats on your new motel, can't wait to come back. You made us feel wonderfully welcomed and we will recommend Shore Meadows to anyone that asks.

Room Tip: Little Cabin on the Hill is perfect for 4-5 people. When I go to place like Lake George, I like a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CamFam6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We found our new weekend/vacation escape! What a special find this place is. It is so close to everything yet amazingly quiet and private. We stayed 7/26 to 7/28. We were thrilled with the location and the immaculate property. The rooms are modest but clean, newly renovated, with everything you need including a beautiful new kitchenette and nice flat screen TV. The best features are the large lawn, private beach and beautiful view of the lake. We enjoyed peaceful days on the beach and relaxing evenings by the firepit. The owner Mike and his staff are friendly, helpful and professional. We will definitely be back and plan o rent several of the suites with our friends. We highly recommend this motel and the price is right.

Room Tip: We liked the units near the beach 7 and 8 but the house/cottages look great too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeweleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#6 of 89 in Lake George
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#9 of 89 in Lake George
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Meadows Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Meadows Motel

Address: 22 Lake Ave, Lake George, NY 12845-1006
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 89 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range: $186 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shore Meadows Motel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Shore Meadows Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing