We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is terrible. Stay away.”
Review of Clinton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clinton Inn
Ranked #20 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This place is terrible. Stay away.”
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Stayed here in August 2010, in one of their cabins. The accommodations were unacceptable: dirty and dilapidated. Stains all over the furnishings and carpets. When we arrived we found food on the carpet and straw wrappers on the floor. Complained to the staff: they were nice and sent someone over, but she just said it looked fine to her and took off.

Dust on top of the TV so thick it was like a joke. Dried spaghetti or BBQ sauce (I hope that's what it was) splattered on the paneling by the front door (???). The screen door was missing a panel. One of the window shades had fallen to the floor and had just been left there. The large window in the kitchen area was not flush to the frame: there was a gap where bugs could get in. The refrigerator did not work properly and our food spoiled. The pool was not heated. Turning on the A/C resulted in a plume of dust shooting into the air. Allergies bothered me all week, but only when I was in the cabin. Disgusting all around.

Never again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Back_Spasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    23
    4
    9
    18
See reviews for
39
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
�����
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

First of all we were never told were to park. We rented a room on our way back from New Hampshire. The room smelled musty and was not thoughly cleaned. Found a pin on the floor (looked like a piercing pin) and a toy phone by the fridge. NO PHONE in room. The beds were terrible, hard as a rock. Mattress needs to be replaced. Also was told heated pool, it was not very warm. We were told by another customer "Pool heater was broke had just got it going".She also said use to be a nice place with the old owners but now new owners. Pillows also were awful and blanket or mattress was musty. Room had been repainted and dust from painting was not cleaned off the headboards. TV to small.
In the morning my husband went to get coffee at alittle after 7. We were told continetal breakfast was in the restaurant and the hours were 7 to 2. When he got there the place was still closed no one around. Went back later was open. My husband asked what happen how come to one there at 7. They said "cook was sick" now at this time they had decafe coffee made but not regular, he took the decafe and ran. Also people were smoking all over the place, outside of rooms by the pool. I was told smoking was only allowed up by the office.Never went to beach hill to steep.We packed and went back to the restaurant again.I went to the restaurant while my husband turned in the keys,he asked if she was the owner, she said"one of them". Was everthing alright, he told her about the bed and pillows and musty smell. She said she just bought new pillows I'll have to have the chambermaid check them. My husband said that's ok "because I'm never COMING BACK.. Breakfast again you can have anything on the middle table for continental breakfast. No bagels or english muffins or toast. You had to ask for it, then they toasted in the kitchen because no toaster on table.The rest was donuts.cereral,danish,milk and juice. Very confusing because they are running a breakfast buffet on both sides of the continetal breakfast..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldfish0358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Waterford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We rented 4 cottages for a week at the Clinton Inn. Upon arrival (at check in time) 2 out of the 4 cabins were available. We were told by the owner they would bring us 2 sets of keys when the cabins were available. We helped unpack the other family members while waiting for the final 2 cabins to be cleaned. We learned the delay was 2 employees had quit in the middle of the day. Once the cabins were ready the very friendly employees advised us it was ok to enter the cabin. We realized that the refridge in 1 cabin was not working and advised the office & we got a rude response from the owner Fred about why we entered the cabin as they were never notified they were ready and never brought us the keys (2 hours after check in). 2 workers came and agreed the refridge wasn't working however needed to call the owner Fred. Fred came to the cabin and before even looking at it advised it must be working because someone was previously in the cabin. Once he looked at it he decided it wasn't working because there was "to much food in it." He finally agreed it wasn't running at all and had it replaced. The next day we went to the office and asked a very nice employee about using the dock at the beach for a few minutes to load/unload passengers if we rented a boat for the day. He indicated we needed to speak with the owner Fred however felt it would be no problem. Later that evening Fred came to our cabin where the extended family was sitting outside and asked if we were the ones inquiring about using the dock. When we responded yes he quickly responded "absolutely not" then my husband asked if it was open for discussion and he rudely responded "If you bring a boat to my dock I will kick you off the property." We rented the boat and brought it in close to shore without using his dock. and fortuntately never saw or spoke to him the remander of our week. The resturant/store was rarely open, the pool was not heated and very cold and the access to the small beach area was so steep some members of our party never saw it as cars were not allowed to drive down and park (althought there was a huge parking lot for the owner) near the beach. Not a place we would return to for lots of reasons but mainly the rude owner Fred!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Good4U_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2010

we have stayed here for years. The staff is friendly and efficient. Continental breakfast is included (hey Rachel). Pool is great and great beach front.
great return customer deals. we'll be there again next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmurphy224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTGOMERY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

I have never seen such a filthy trailer in my life, I wish i just left the day i got there that i left but it was a trip with 10 other people and already paid for. We rented 2 so called "cabins" that were just horrible. The mattresses, floors, walls, and bathroom were all dirty and house keeping never came for the 3 days we were there. I have not stopped itching since i left and i thinkn i have bed bugs and bites all over my body from this hell hole. For the love of God do not stay at the Clinton Inn it should be condemed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeMontgomery76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I have stayed at other local hotels and eight years ago we trip The Clinton Inn and that was it. Here is where we stay, period. I keep the reservation number in my contact and that's it...Love the location and all it has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

Very clean quiet Inn -- great value-- comp continental breakfast -- clean quiet pool-- nice lake front beach on property-- comfortable affordable stay -- stayed t the Clinton Inn for summer vacation past few years and going to stay for a few nights this summer.. very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gleneration
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.1 mi away
Rock Castle Resort
Rock Castle Resort
#26 of 32 in Lake George
6 reviews
1.0 mi away
Still Bay Resort
Still Bay Resort
#15 of 25 in Lake George
77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#49 of 89 in Lake George
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Capri Village on Lake George
Capri Village on Lake George
#8 of 9 in Diamond Point
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages
Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages
#21 of 32 in Lake George
40 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Austin Inn
The Austin Inn
#18 of 25 in Lake George
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clinton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clinton Inn

Property: Clinton Inn
Address: 3250 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6511
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Family-owned Hotel offers a variety of lodging options: Motel, Hotel, Cabin, & Vacation Rentals. Guests enjoy our hometown hospitality, and appreciate the spacious rooms - significantly larger than most Hotels in the area. Though we're not brand new, our rooms are remodeled, clean, and our prices are affordable. You'll see why our guests keep coming back year after year. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Clinton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clinton Hotel Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing