We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hike, Beautiful View”
Review of Prospect Mountain

Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 2,030-foot mountain in Lake George that offers trips to the summit in "viewmobile" vans for awesome views.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hike, Beautiful View”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hike was appropriately difficult and while I only went half way up, and then waited for my husband, he said the view was breathtaking. I enjoyed his pictures and the relaxing break in nature. On our next trip, we will do the drive up the mountain.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    252
    70
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great quite place to overlook Lake George”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Every year we go to Lake George, we take time to enjoy the views of Lake George from Prospect Mountain. We always get a brown bag lunch to bring up to Prospect Mountain to eat in peace and quiet away from the hustle and bustle from the Lake George area below.

Even during the heatwave of July 2103 it was a little cooler up at Prospect Mountain. The only disappointment is that they do not accept the New York State Empire Passport for entrance into the park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcloss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nutley, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We drove instead of hiked that day because rain was in the forecast. Although there were many clouds, we still enjoyed the view. We walked instead of taking the shuttle to the very top. It was a bit of a work out because it is a steep hill but it was worth it. We paid $10 and that entitled you to leave the area and come back anytime that day. Bring bug spray - many bugs on the top.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lurdes8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great views of Lake George.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

It was $10 per car load. We drove right up. There were 3 scenic over looks on the way. The 2nd was the best. When u get to the top you can get a free shuttle bus to the summit. Lots of hiking, since we have a toddler with us we just walked around a little bit n headed back down. It was a nice ride up with beautiful views! Well worth the $10.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cf327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky Point, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great views of the Lake!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great views of the lake below from three different lookout points on you way to the summit. Summit shuttle very convenient .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospect Mountain also viewed

 

Been to Prospect Mountain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing