We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing place”

Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages
Utica, New York
1 review
“Nice relaxing place”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My family and I stayed for four nights. My two kids and I stayed int he two bedroom cottage while my parents rented an a-frame and Brothers had two of the motel style rooms. As a family get away we were very pleased. My place was clean and we were helped right away with any questions. The location was exactly what we wanted. If you are looking for modern accomodations this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a rustic get away it will be what you are looking for.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casualtraveler48759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    6
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sand Lake, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

Well I don't agree with the awful reviews written here about the Amber Lantern - the cottages are typical lake george style - little log cabin types set in the woods, been there for many years, efficiency kitchens, cute, with character, but nothing fancy. Ours was clean and neat and had everything we needed to enjoy some blender drinks and prepare some snacks. However there are a few key things missing - no verizon cell service here! And the trolley, which is supposed to run by every few hours instead of every 15 minutes like it does closer to the village -- which is bad enough -- NEVER CAME. It is also not on the lake side of the road, fyi. Other than that it's a nice scenic 4 mile trip into the village. The people were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kristenesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

The room was nice no frills for sure. The bathroom was awful. The shower stall is very small and rusty around the bottom. the toilet is soooo close to the sink that you cannot move. The sink in our room was falling off the wall so if you put much water in it spilled on the floor. The person at the desk was very rude about our problems and refused to refund so we stayed for the 2 nights and spent most of our time out of the room using other bathrooms. My husband asked about the shower when we booked. He told them he was avery large man and they said the showers were fine for that. I had bigger shower stalls in high school for gym class.

Would be a nice place if you didn't need to use a bathroom.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank kaaspinwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lake George hotels

NY
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2009

My wife and I were looking for a little R & R and our stay here gave us exactly what we needed. The cottages were clean and well maintained. The location was perfect as it was close to Lake George Village. The convenience of having a wonderful restaurant right on the property was an added bonus. The food and service was excellent! I am someone who values old fashioned service and always looks for the best value. Our stay here gave us both.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopscoachNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 20, 2009

We are headed back to upstate NY for a family reunion and the Amber Lantern provides the authentic adirondak experience we are looking for. Its exactly what the doctor ordered if your looking to excape all the trappings of the daily grind and spend some quality time togather. This family run business sets the tone for a "family camp "style retreat in the woods, and the on premise restaurant makes starting the day easy and affordable. The owners are more than willing to help when you discover you forgot the kids goggles for the pool or are looking for a late afternoon family excursion, and the money we saved allowed us to explore more of the neighboring attractions. Its an old school destination fit for the family photo album.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank outtatowner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2008

Our return visit to the Lake George this year was an enjoyable experience. We have stayed with the AMber Lantern for the past 10 years, and have found the property to meet our expections every visit. We are a large group with 12 people, adults and child and find activities for all. The rooms are clean and comfortable with all supplies furnished. We required some additional items and they were provided at no charge.

The pool area and play ground were fun for everyone. We had a group BBQ in the area provided and the owner even helped us set up.

The rates are great and the service was beyond our expectations.

We look forward to our continued visits each year. Thanks for the memories.

  • Liked — THe quaint style of the resort
  • Disliked — Not open year round
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigBangTheory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHANNON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2008

Well, I had been meaning to write my own review to add to what my boyfriend wrote, but just didn't have the chance. There were so many things that it is impossible to remember them all.

The day we got there we went food shopping on the way to the cottage & bought BBQ food & some things that needed to be cooked on the stove. Disgusting is being nice for the condition of the stove. The burners were so caked with food & grease & above the stove was a matching exhaust fan with a pull chain from 1964 that you couldn't put on if you wanted to for fear of 40 years of grime blowing all over you.

When I saw the condition of the stove I refused to cook on it that nite. The next day we searched all of Lake George for aluminum burners so that we could make coffee in the morning without getting grossed out. IN addition to a 6 pack of paper towels, cleaning products & a mop.

Also the noise factor was an issue. The cottage is 20 feet from Lake Shore Drive which is a main road and needless to say you can hear every car that passes all nite long. Another search in Lake George was for ear plugs so that I could get some sleep. You couldn't keep the windows open anyway because the screens were ripped & weren't secure in the window so the bugs came in. If you wanted to open the blinds to al least get some light into the dark paneled room, they did not stay open so you had to tie them around the blinds for the welfare hotel look.

Oh and the sign above the air conditioner that said to shut off air when not in room. At $165 a night I really didn't care about the $1.98 of electric that we used to air out the musty, stale smell of the room. What nerve to put up a sign to close the A/C. If the windows could be left open maybe the air wouldn't have to be left on all the time.

The reason for this review is to stear you away from here unless you want to spend the week cleaning up a place that the owners don't care about. Unfortunately everything was booked, so we cleaned it the best we could & I had brought extra blankets which I covered the filthy couch & filthly rug with.

Lake George is a great place to visit but not if you stay here!!!!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The Condition Of The Room
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHEREOTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.2 mi away
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
Adirondack Diamond Point Lodge
#4 of 9 in Diamond Point
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hill View Cottages
Hill View Cottages
#1 of 6 in Diamond Point
50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#48 of 88 in Lake George
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Blair House
Blair House
#6 of 32 in Lake George
38 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Villas On Lake George
The Villas On Lake George
#8 of 9 in Diamond Point
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages

Property: Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages
Address: 3601 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6714
Location: United States > New York > Lake George
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and HRS so you can book your Amber Lantern Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing