We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the good and the average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of T.R.'s Restaurant

T.R.'s Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ada, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“the good and the average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

First the good...free apps in the bar from 4-7pm each night are awesome! Now the average...breakfast buffet is not worth the money, time or effort. It is your run of the mill cold scrambled eggs, rubbery bacon, etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank brlepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    37
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Who can't cook an Egg????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Very disappointed with the service of this restaurant. Went there for Breakfast. Our Eggs came to us Raw & clucking, but burnt on the outside edges. Sausage was pretty greasy, but what was more disappointing was the fact that when asked how our food was, ---> and we said the eggs were a little too raw for our tastes, they did not re-fire the eggs. In fact the waitress said to my husband well you ordered sunny side up. Which although I've seen a lot of under done sunny side ups this one was completely translucent on top and when he cut his egg it sent clear salmonella pools all over his plate. My egg was raw as well and I had ordered over easy. Raw clear pools on the top of the egg, which I've never had before ordering over easy. We could also hear loud arguments in the kitchen where the Manager(??) was telling the chef that it was taking too long for food to get to the dining room. We did not return for lunch or dinner, so I have no clue if service is better at the other meals.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 123NIX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
254 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Hotel..not so great Restaurant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

We were on our way back from a Vermont road trip to NJ and heard so much about Lake George we thought we'd stop off and spend a night with the kids. Wow! The town is like a ghost town. I don't understand why they advertise "come to Lake George durring the fall" and here it is mid October and they are shutdown? Anyway about the hotel...Great place! Clean, friendly staff, nice room, classy looking modern place, nice firepit, great indoor pool...what else can I say? Don't hesitate to book here durring season! Worth the money! My only complaint was their restaurant JR's I think it was called? Food quality was not great and it was pretty pricey! My wife got chicken parm with tons of sauce, barely melted mozzarella cheese on it and it tasted like a TV dinner. Better Italian at Olive Garden. My shrimp scampi had no taste! Beautiful looking restaurant but they need a new chef! Food was not good! Great hotel though!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3sons314416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
281 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not your average hotel dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

A recent renovation to the dining room and bar have made this one of the ares best places for a family outing.
The bar overlooks the lake, theirs an outdoor patio, fire pit and also a dinner theatre. The Friday night seafood buffet is the ares best value and also includes prime rib. The bars happy hour with free munches draws a great crowd and chef Micheals daily specials are reasonable and delicious.
Sunday nights also brings out a variety of other choices that feature a free glass of wine or beer.
You can't go wrong!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
281 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Not your average holiday inn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

TR's has had a complete makeover with new booths,furnishings.
Carpeting and wall murals. What hasn't changed is the above average hotel food or the great chef. The dinner menu includes great daily specials the feature their sald bar, soups entree and dessert. Friday nights seafood smorgasbord is the areas best value that also offers prime rib, shrimp, chowders, crab legs and clams. The bar has a great happy hour with munches and good
Conversation. Very popular locally.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to T.R.'s Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing