We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic diner”
Review of Prospect Mt. Diner

Prospect Mt. Diner
Ranked #53 of 164 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
England
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Classic diner”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

In a classic 50s diner building, small inside (some outside seating though). Service 'characterfully' distant and chatty - plenty of locals both times we went in, and the staff mainly gossiping with them and each other. Good breakfasts and cheap.
If you love diners, you'll love it. If you don't like that sort of thing, best go somewhere else.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 99flake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    54
    37
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, not-so-great ambiance”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been going to the Prospect Mountain Diner on vacation for years, both pre & post fire. We have only been there for breakfast. Even on a late weekday morning (always in August), we usually have to wait for an inside table for our party of four to seven people. The table is not always the cleanest. The service is not always the fastest. The breakfast food is always fresh, reliable & delicious. The French toast, potatoes, and biscuit with gravy are particular family favorites.

Someday we're going to get there for lunch or dinner. In the meantime, it's our first choice for breakfast out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnonE-Mous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Busy the day we went for Breakfast”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here for breakfast on a Sunday. The diner had a line so we went to the outdoor seating area and waited about 15 minutes. Not bad for a party of 6. Some people that came after us were grumbling and wanted immediate seating. Actually it was just one idiot who expected to go to the front of the line. The staff stayed pleasant and were good to all the customers attitude or not. The food was served quickly and we got what we ordered. The quality was very good. I would visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wnyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Classic diner atmosphere and look - Delicious food !!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We dined here for breakfast on a morning during Americade. Despite the dozens of motorcycles parked in the lot we were able to be seated immediately in a booth with a mini jukebox. We had the standard breakfast:, eggs, pancakes, bacon, juice, coffee etc. The selection was more varied than that, but we only wanted a simple, hot breakfast. The service was quick and everything we ordered was hot and fresh. For a no frills, hot breakfast in a quaint, classic diner setting, this is a great place.
The only negative thing was the restrooms: both the men's and ladies rooms were 1 stallers and there was a line for both the entire time we were dining. They were clean, but still it was only 1 of each and when it's crowded it just isn't enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank disneyguy333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“No Breakfast at the Hotel”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

I love diners and this diner has an amazing history! The diner came from Paterson NJ so it is authentic! This is definitely where 'the locals' eat because when the three of us walked in they looked like they had never seen people before! It was funny. The service was splendid and friendly. But best of all the pancakes were delicious!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MajorJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prospect Mt. Diner also viewed

 
Lake George, NY
 

Been to Prospect Mt. Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing