We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Different Restaurants/Two Different Opinions”

Guiseppe's Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Two Different Restaurants/Two Different Opinions”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

There are two different restaurants right across the way from each other. One is more of a pizzeria, while the other is called the "Emporium" and is a more "fine dining" establishment. We ate at both for dinner:

Pizzeria: We ordered a medium pie, which was six big slices. The price on it was rather high, more than what we pay back at home (and we live outside NYC.) The atmosphere was casual (paper plates), but the pizza was really, really good. We felt the price was fair based on how good the food was.

Emporium: From the outside it looks like some restaurant you'd find in Disney World, but the inside pretty much looks like a glorified conference room. There are no free refills on sodas, which my husband didn't realize until he got the bill and saw we had an $8 "bar" tab. Our dinners both came with salad, which was okay - mostly lettuce. Bread arrived warm but was nothing special. My dinner was a $15 plate of 7 ravioli. The food was good, but nothing special, and we definitely felt it was overpriced. My suggestion is to go to the pizzeria and skip this place. We wouldn't go back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lark2328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    100
    39
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Pizza night”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

dining outside...NO bugs; great pizza, waitstaff attentive, food served at proper temperature, parking lot between 2 buildings in the back

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanceswithShelties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess Cty, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Blah sauce”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The restaurant is nice enough and the steamed clams were very good. I had ravioli parm and my husband had lasagna. The sauce had no taste at all...none! I can't even say the sauce was bad tasting because it had no taste!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very delicious Italian food”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I have previously reviewed the less-fancy half of Guiseppe's & have given it a good review. This summer we tried the fancier half because there were a couple of dishes on the menu that really appealed to us. It did not disappoint! The food was delicious, the serving staff was very nice (although a bit slow) & it was worth trying Guiseppe's "other half". We will still go to it's simpler sibling across the parking lot when we just want pizza or ravioli or spaghetti, but will come here when we want a fancier, nicer meal. Both are good values & both serve good food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnonE-Mous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldoboro
Level Contributor
269 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“New York Style Pizza!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The restaurant is a bit odd as it is divided in to two buildings just across the parking lot from one another. We have eaten at the "indoor" more formal restaurant many times. We opted to try the "pizza" restaurant this time. The restaurant inside is very small and most of the seating is outside on a covered porch, nothing fancy. We had several different types of pizza and were not disappointed. This is real NY thin "pies" that you can fold and eat. The pepperoni pizza was loaded with meat and these are generously sized pizzas. By 6pm this place is packed, for good reason. Also available are calzones , antipasto etc. Call ahead for your pizza and take out or have a seat on the porch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rardogrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guiseppe's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Guiseppe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing