We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent pub food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garrison Restaurant & Pub

Garrison Restaurant & Pub
Ranked #20 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wilton, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

A good value for Lake George. Sandwiches and other pub fare are all very good. It has its own parking lot, so parking is easy. Good value for the money.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank BUCHYNDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    55
    16
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Florida/New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Legend in Lake George”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Been there since 1953! Great pub food, a large selection of draft beers. Friendly, helpful staff, great service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank powersrofl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“It was perfect for what we were looking for!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Went there with my 14 yo dtr over the weekend. I liked the atmosphere, local feel and pub like food available. Had a hot open roast beef sandwich with a baked potatoe and it was the perfect comfort food on a cool night. Went back the next night and had chicken wngs. I liked the idea that I felt like I was in a bar but could bring my daughter too. The service was good and I have no real complaints. I thought the prices could have been a little lower but C'mon, we are in Lake George, a resort town, what do you expect? I would go back again for certain.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“TERRIBLE - DO NOT EAT HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

Went to the Garrison recently. Nice looking pub and the menu looked interesting. I asked the wiater if the chef (never could be a chef in that kitchen) could make me up a grilled vegetable sandwich with cheese. He very enthusiastically said sure. My friend ordered the "special" grilled shrimp with barbeque sauce over a bed of rice. I couldn't believe what came out of the kitchen. My sandwich was open-faced. OK. Grilled it was not. It was sauteed onions and peppers (like those you would top a burger with) on white bread (not grilled) with cheese on the top that was barely melted. YUK. The french fries were a very dark brown (wonder when the fryer was cleaned) and very soggy. As for my friend, double YUK. The rice was undercooked so it was crunchy. There was a skewer of grilled shrimp and an adequate portion, topped with barbeque sauce that obviously came from a jar. Lots and lots of barbeque sauce poured over the shrimp. The best I can say is they neither of us were sick from this terrible food.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SONGOFJOY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Day, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“what a rip off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We have been going to the Garrison for years. I don't know what happened but the food was terrible the last TWO time we went there, I gave it a second chance I figured eveyone can have a bad day. The prices are way high for what you get and their famous bergers are hockey pucks.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzyd090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrison Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Garrison Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing