We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ

The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #18 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since 1991 we've been smokin' and sauce slingin' so we know how to cook - and treat barbeque with the respect it deserves. Our sauce is homemade in our kitchen in Lake George, NY, and our meats are seasoned & cooked to perfection. Ours is some of the best BBQ north of Memphis, and we aren't afraid to say so. But don't take our word for it, come and taste the sensation for yourself. Have us cater your next event!
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The ambiance is cozy, the people are friendly. Our entrée came quickly and the chef made it exactly to my allergy-troubled diet. And he made it taste really good, even when I had to eliminate his sauces, which he recreated--sign of a good cook!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    132
    83
    58
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
“Baby back ribs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were running out of places to eat on November 2, 2013 and ended up at the Barnsider by happenstance. As soon as we walked in the smell of the restaurant was amazing. The smell of pine wood, which lined the interior of the building, and bbq smoke lingering throughout. A true adirondack experience. Our waitress Brittany helped us out with the selections and steered us to the baby backs, 1/2 rack, which was plenty for me and my wife who ordered the same. The meat just fell off the bones and the bbq flavor was a taste all their own which ranks right up there to the best I've ever had. A side of bake beans complimented the ribs nicely. My wife had the mac and cheese side which was the only downer for they were a little on the warm side. No desert, no room. But again, can't say enough about our waitress making us feel ever so welcomed and as a bonus there was a blues/jazz guitar player creating an ever pleasing ambiance which added to the whole dining experience. Will definitely eat there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centereach, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“BBQ food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went here on the surfside package. Very good BBQ dinner. Casual atmosphere. Right on the Main Street. Convenient.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bareque around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

We make it a piont to go to this resturaunt everytime we go to Lake Goerge. Great food. Service is always good. Never had a very long wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff, average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The patio was great and the staff were very friendly. we asked to sit on the patio as they had fire bowls next to the tables but decided that it was too chilly and immediately changed our minds. The staff found us a table even though it was pretty crowded.

We had the pulled pork sandwich which was good and two local draft beers. The sandwich was pretty average and the beer was okay (Bear Naked Ale). I also later tried the ale in a bottle and it was much better so i'm not sure if this was a case of dirty taps/lines or something in the bottling process.

all in all i would probably try it again given the chance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsider, Owner at The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I try not to respond to many reviews because I understand we are a business that caters to the public. That being said I am sorry that your experience was a negative one?, sort of!? The comments, "We had the pulled pork sandwich which was good and two local draft beers. The sandwich was pretty average and the beer was okay (Bear Naked Ale). Was the sandwich good or was it pretty average? Furthermore you didn't like the beer which with the many craft beers on the market today I don't like some of them myself. To comment could it be a case of dirty taps/lines is absurd and insulting!! We professionally clean the line often and to suggest otherwise is plain mean spirited and incorrect. Just say you didn't like the taste of the beer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing