We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ food.”

The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #30 of 164 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 1991 we've been smokin' and sauce slingin' so we know how to cook - and treat barbeque with the respect it deserves. Our sauce is homemade in our kitchen in Lake George, NY, and our meats are seasoned & cooked to perfection. Ours is some of the best BBQ north of Memphis, and we aren't afraid to say so. But don't take our word for it, come and taste the sensation for yourself. Have us cater your next event!
Centereach, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“BBQ food.”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Went here on the surfside package. Very good BBQ dinner. Casual atmosphere. Right on the Main Street. Convenient.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    138
    94
    64
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vernon Rockville, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Bareque around.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We make it a piont to go to this resturaunt everytime we go to Lake Goerge. Great food. Service is always good. Never had a very long wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere, friendly staff, average food.”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The patio was great and the staff were very friendly. we asked to sit on the patio as they had fire bowls next to the tables but decided that it was too chilly and immediately changed our minds. The staff found us a table even though it was pretty crowded.

We had the pulled pork sandwich which was good and two local draft beers. The sandwich was pretty average and the beer was okay (Bear Naked Ale). I also later tried the ale in a bottle and it was much better so i'm not sure if this was a case of dirty taps/lines or something in the bottling process.

all in all i would probably try it again given the chance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 672kevinf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsider, Owner at The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
I try not to respond to many reviews because I understand we are a business that caters to the public. That being said I am sorry that your experience was a negative one?, sort of!? The comments, "We had the pulled pork sandwich which was good and two local draft beers. The sandwich was pretty average and the beer was okay (Bear Naked Ale). Was the sandwich good or was it pretty average? Furthermore you didn't like the beer which with the many craft beers on the market today I don't like some of them myself. To comment could it be a case of dirty taps/lines is absurd and insulting!! We professionally clean the line often and to suggest otherwise is plain mean spirited and incorrect. Just say you didn't like the taste of the beer!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesboro, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Excellent food. Had the beef brisket sandwich with onion rings. Roll was fresh and stuffed with delicious BBQ brisket.Came quickly even though they were very busy. Waitress attentive. Would to again. TIP: Has parking behind restaurant off the busy highway. Seating outside which was nice on a fall day, inside and upstairs.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great bbq”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

If you want great bbq in lake George this is the place to go! If you have no patience with bea bratty teenage wait staff then it's probably not for you.
Everything I've ordered here is fantastic, onion soup, sweet potatoe fries, bbq chicken, ribs. The bbq sauce is extremely unique and insanely delicious.
The wait staff however is probably every single teenage resident in lake George. They're snotty, and they're sparce when you need something. The food comes out slow as well
Very cute building! Upstairs, downstairs, and outside dining.
We make it a point to Stop here every year just for the bbq.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank diorbella413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing