We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast”

The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #30 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 1991 we've been smokin' and sauce slingin' so we know how to cook - and treat barbeque with the respect it deserves. Our sauce is homemade in our kitchen in Lake George, NY, and our meats are seasoned & cooked to perfection. Ours is some of the best BBQ north of Memphis, and we aren't afraid to say so. But don't take our word for it, come and taste the sensation for yourself. Have us cater your next event!
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Food and service were great- prices. Had pancakes and eggs with bacon and sausage - meats were smoked and amazing. Stays open year round. Will hit next time for dinner

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeyC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    135
    91
    62
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Port Colborne, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drawn in by the amazing smell of BBQ”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

As we pulled into town after a long days ride, everyone noticed the wonderful smell of BBQ coming from the building across from our hotel. We vowed we'd go check it out & it was absolutely worth it!
The beef brisket is fantastic. I saw Deep Fried Green Beans on the menu & curiosity made me try them. They were awesome! Who knew??
Prices are good, food is great.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SneakersGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, CT
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great ribs! They been around 21 years. They smoke their own ribs.”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Wow. What a find. Just happen to find this in a sea of tourist trap restaurants in Lake George.
They been around 21 years, and smoke their own ribs.
It is very hard to find good BBQ. To most people, good BBQ is Applebee's.
Great, great place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bush242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Best LG bar b que”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Casual indoor and outdoor dining that will satisfy diners of all ages. The Pagnottas have continued to upgrade and make this Rt. 9 spot popular almost year round. Kicked uo some nights with live jazz as well as great side dishes to go along with real pulled pork sandwiches to Memphis style ribs. The chicken is also excellentbandvavgreat kids menu. Try the porch if your lucky to sit outside.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Bad night for a BBQ (15 September 12)”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were in town for the night and decided to try this place for supper due to the proximity to our hotel and from the outside, it looked like an interesting place. My friend ordered the ribs and I ordered the half chicken (both house specialties). The chicken was inedible, hard as rubber and undercooked inside. The ribs were tough and seemed more like beef jerky stuck to the bone. Even the sides (coleslaw, macaroni salad and potato salad) seemed to be leftover from Labor Day. It was all very disappointing to say the least. I seriously have never written a bad review for a restaurant in my life but I felt this was way beyond acceptable and hope that no one else has the same experience we had. In fairness, the beef brisket was okay and somewhat tender and tasty. Service was adequate although oblivious. End of a busy season perhaps means not the best time to have BBQ....Would definitely NOT RECOMMEND this place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing