We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good views no good food”

Shepards Cove Restaurant
Ranked #122 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Centerbrook, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good views no good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

July23 wednesday gigot We went here for a light dinner and I ordered a turkey wrap and a side do cole slaw and a very small pickle snit I had to say the waitress was very nice and friendly and drink sweet tasting

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    17
    21
    15
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really like it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We go to Lake George about every year, and Shepard's Cove is a "mandatory" stop for us. We love the view, and the menu options are fabulous for a fun and informal meal. The server was EXCELLENT tonight and we met the manager, Chris. He said he is new and has been making changes based on customer feedback. Judging by tonite, his changes have been very positive. My group of 9 had a good time and a great meal on an awesome deck overlooking Lake George. We will be back. ... JohnK and group

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great bar scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were there Saturday night (July 12th) and the place was slammed, the bartenders were great. Super friendly and efficient. Definitely the place to be on a Saturday night. Drinks weren't over priced, made just right, and very speedy service with a smile.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newburgh, ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Had a nice lunch with view of the lake. Luckily it wasnt crowded at all. Waitress was very nice. Food was fine. prices were ok also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, Inedible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

The only thing this place has going for it is its view which is probably how they can get away with the terrible service and food. We had to go find someone to wait on us and even after we did, it took 10 more minutes for him to come over to us. When we finally got him to take our order we had to ask 2 times for our drinks and then when the food came he disappeared. He seemed confused when we asked for plates and silverwear when he brought out our appetizers- steamers (cold) and onion rings (flavorless and cold). The rest of the food was horrible. My daughter's chicken parmesan was rubbery and tough, the breading was soggy and the sauce had a tinny taste like it came out of a can. My boyfriend and I ordered fish and chips and the meal was flavorless. The fish was overcooked, french fries were soggy and undercooked. Nothing on the plate had any flavor or texture it was just mush. On top of it, the prices were not reasonable. There are plenty of other places to eat on the lake that have much better service and food. I recomend any of them but this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank swilki2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepards Cove Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Shepards Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing