We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Start to Vacation”

Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill
Ranked #37 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Wantagh, NY
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A Great Start to Vacation”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Based on the majority of reviews, we went to this restaurant. We were seated upstairs and had Karleigh (sp?) as a waitress. Everything was great. While we only ordered 1 appitizer, and had 2 side salads, the main courses were all delicious. I had the chicken and ribs, and the meat fell right off the bone. My wife and son had the Shrimp/Pasta dishes and both were large portions and tasted great. Others had more ribs and chicken fingers. Everyone enjoyed their food. Their deserts were great as well. The Apple tart and lava cake were great.

Overall a great meal and would definitely return the next time up at Lake George.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank richj22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snapshotlakegeorgeny, Owner at Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you, We are glad your party enjoyed everything......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    105
    67
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“so-so”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

some of the food was very good like the ribs and pulled pork and wings - service was very slow but our waitress was very nice - the place could use a cleaning and more light

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“CONTINUES TO BE GREAT”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had dinner here again the other night. Anyone who writes a bad review about this place must just be angry in general. I can never find anything negative to say about this restaurant. The crab cake is delicious and the perfect appetizer. The diamond Point Pasta was just delicious and the vegetables in it so fresh. I heard they may try and stay open during the winter - I certainly hope they are. The food is delicious and the interior so nicely appointed - would be a great winter go-to place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SONGOFJOY53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snapshotlakegeorgeny, Owner at Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your support.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craryville, New York
1 review
“Will definitely be back!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Ate here on Aug. 10 and will surely be back. The waitstaff was friendly and professional. Everyone in our party of six more than enjoyed their meals. Portions were more than adequate and the food was fresh and hot. My husband and I both had steak with a Jack Daniels glaze (I think) and it was excellent. Atmosphere is casual and comfortable. We all had a great experience here.

Theresa Preusser
Craryville, NY

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank preu71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snapshotlakegeorgeny, Owner at Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“New name, same great food and service!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I visit LG every year and have dined at the once named Smokey Joe's now turned Gaslight Bar and Grill for the past three years. We were a little surprised to see the name change but once we asked our waitress why it was changed she explained about the expanded menu to fit everyones preferences and the owner didn't want to be perceived as strictly BBQ any longer based on the new menu. Don't fret! They still have their amazing fall of the bone ribs and pulled pork; but now also offer a great variety of seafood and pasta dishes, steaks, burgers and a wider variety of appetizers. The "Jerry's Caprese Chicken" was delicious! Served with your choice of potato, linguine and a side salad. Eggplant fries were a new addition to menu under the appetizers. I was a little hesitant to order them at first where as I don't typically like eggplant but my boyfriend was adamant we try them and to my surprise...very tasty! We had the same waitress as we did last year-very outgoing and friendly personality. She was great; made sure we had everything we needed and went out of her way to answer any questions we had even when she was clearly running around since the place was packed (it was a Saturday evening). She had recognized us from last year-totally made our experience at the newly named Gaslight Bar and Grill a memorable one and as always...we will be back again next year on our annual trip to Lake George.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyLee8487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snapshotlakegeorgeny, Owner at Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Thank you very much....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Joe's Saloon & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing