We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down, lacking pride.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lackawanna
Certificate of Excellence
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Run down, lacking pride.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is showing signs of being run down. It doesn't look like it had much upkeep since it opened. Ex. Duct tape on the drain pipe to prevent leaking. I was impressed with the staff but, seem that ownership is lacking pride. Their large clientel are truckers which are bused in from the truck stop. Next to the hotel is a gentleman's bar, which I am sure caters to the mentioned clientel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank LUC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    75
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
81
60
12
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a quick getaway with our young sons. There were not many guests that night.

The good:it's always nice to have breakfast at the hotel. The rooms were clean and new. The price was right! The wifi worked well.

The bad: the pool was really poorly lit and surprisingly cold. Despite how empty the hotel was, we got a room directly under a very loud, presumably drunk, couple with children. I feel like that could have been organized differently....perhaps spread the guests out a bit? The breakfast was just the typical basic hotel breakfast. Nothing to rave about.

Neutral: I didn't feel it was really that close (dstance) to anything, certainly not walking distance to anything.

Overall: really just your average hotel. We would stay again if the price was right, but we'd be more likely to book elsewhere. I'd say the biggest issue for us was the pool.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamacassola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed here before and the hotel is starting to age although it is ok.
It is in a run down old industrial area but very quiet and handy for shopping etc.
We stayed in a double room which was big enough with very comfortable beds, all of us had a very restful good nights sleep. The breakfast was ok but could use some small improvements to make it much more desirable ie:more choice of yoghurts and jams,eggs and sausage kept hotter.
Pool was nice if a bit cool and it could use a hot tub.
All told not to bad, have stayed in better and walked out of worse.

Room Tip: Do not have room 206 as it is right next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skybluekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great pricing, averaging $100 a night with breakfast, free parking, free wifi and a fitness center. Although it is not walking distance to anything it is within 5-10 min drive to a tonne of restaurants and box stores. It is also new looking and feel. Rooms are spacious and we stayed in a standard king room and it was really large and spacious with a mini fridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed at this property on the weekend and it was quite enjoyable. Location is close to Buffalo downtown, but not much to do in immediate area. There is a large shopping complex 4-5 miles away. The property is very clean and looks brand new. Room was excellent, bathroom was very well kept. The breakfest in the morning is decent and much more than I had expected. Staff is very friendly. I think this place offers great value. I will be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrick1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Webster, MA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Located just outside urban Buffalo, the BW Lackawanna is set back from the hwy, convenient, and staffed by caring, professional employees. This was my 2nd stay at this hotel, and, despite an intervening period of 6 months, the desk clerks remembered me and welcomed me warmly.

Check in and check out ridiculously easy. Cost & value top notch. Continental breakfast more than ample. Food was nicely prepared and ample. Staff was VERY HELPFUL with directions and advice. They directed us to two restaurants that were superb.

A nice home-away-from-home in Buffalo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lackawanna
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Buffalo South I-90
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Buffalo South/I-90
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Cheektowaga
Comfort Inn Cheektowaga
#10 of 22 in Cheektowaga
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Galleria Inn & Suites
4.9 mi away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#9 of 23 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
5.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Buffalo - Hamburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna
Address: 2500 Hamburg Tpke, Lackawanna, NY 14218-2507
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Lackawanna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lackawanna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Best Western + Iniative and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS the Inn of Lackawanna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lackawanna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing