We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but I've been to better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Kingston
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Massachusetts
1 review
“Nice but I've been to better.”
Reviewed February 22, 2009

My mother took me out to have some get away time from our stressful jobs so we decided to stay in a hotel while visiting my grandparents.
We had to change rooms THREE times. Our first room, the beds were not made. Our second was across the hall from a room that was rented to seven children.
Our last one was in a room where the heater was broken. We decided we were too tired to move any more.

Having a broken heater in the middle of winter is bad enough but there was also NO security. Older teenagers were wondering the hallways, making a commotion while a large party of children upstairs were running up and down the hallways. This did not stop until 11pm in which I could not sleep. When I went down to the front desk to complain, I could smell the scent of marijuana in the air. I wasn't able to sleep until midnight and even after that, woke up to try and get some hot air from the heater.

The room was comfortable, yet freezing and the bed was rather uncomfortable. The front desk called our room two hours before check-out time asking if we'd like someone to come and fix our heated. He also asked us why we didn't switch rooms only for us to tell him that would of been the fourth time.

I wouldn't stay again and hope that they have better information about who is sleeping where, what is wrong with rooms and to have security to stop loitering and noise making. Some people check into hotels just to sleep!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todaface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    49
    45
    66
See reviews for
62
56
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed one night in this hotel and couldn't get out fast enough. We did not expect luxury, but we did not expect what we found.

The list of problems goes on and on. The halls smelled of old smoke and the non-smoking room we were given had traces of stale smoke. The floor looked visibly stained or dirty. At least one towel had a long hair folded inside it. The tub also had hair in it from a previous guest. The shower head had some sort of red markings on it that I would have thought was old blood, but could have been some sort of chemical, I suppose. I was able to clean most of it off before showering, but it was pretty disgusting. At least one of the exterior doors had a tendecy to snap back when opened in a way that could hurt a guest if they were not paying careful attention.

On the positive side (a bit of a reach for us given we left with such poor impressions), the bed was comfortable and the fridge and TV worked.

Nothing to do with the hotel, but watch out if you get directions from Google. The confusing directions may take you past the hotel through a roundabout and then back again. If coming north on route 28, turn when you see the hotel, ignoring the directions Google may give.

A very minor point, but the hotel was unwilling to let us check in at all early. We didn't press the on it, but we did ask once. We understand hotel policy and don't fault the clerk for enforcing it, but it would have been nice to be able to check in 15 minutes early instead of stting in the lobby until 2:00 PM sharp. It is ironic that at 2:00 PM, the room they had appearantly researved for us wasn't cleaned yet then anyway, so they shifted us to another room away from other people in our group.

So, be warned. If they clean up their act, this could be a nice hotel, but cleanliness is a major thing when staying at a hotel and this hotel fell far short of the mark in making us feel like we were staying in a clean room.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mungubaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

We booked 2 suites and 1 room through the hotel website for family members coming into town, and went to the hotel personally to give them the names of the various family members and to make sure that they understood we were picking up the rooms on our credit card. One family, who was supposed to get a suite because they had 2 adults and 2 kids, didn't, and another was given keys to a room that was already occupied. The day they checked out, we received an email notifying us that our credit card had been charged nothing, which we can only surmise means that our guests have been charged their room on their credit cards. We don't really know, because after speaking with the manager on the phone and being promised he would look into the matter and get back to us, we are still waiting. We wouldn't be so annoyed if we hadn't gone in person to confirm the arrangements, and the lack of follow-up from management is just another indication of the lack of care at this hotel. Too bad, because it is conveniently located.

  • Liked — Convenient location
  • Disliked — Front desk not organized
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JoeTCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2008

We needed a quick overnight for our road trip. This was an open night not planned in case we wanted to go a different direction. Not much to choose from in brand names. Holiday Inn was convention center and they can be noisy and don't care about individuals. Hampton was too expensive. Quality let me check out the room - offered the preview as a suggestion. Found the room clean and neat. Bed was great. Shower OK. Price was good with AARP discount. Ate room service which was OK. A good place for an overnight. Not a destination.

  • Liked — Convenient location for us. Price good for area.
  • Disliked — A bit used but clean and neat.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CraigT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2008

The Pros:
-Kingston is a lovely little town to visit. We did the Rip Van Winkle cruise & visited the old port - very nice.
-Suite room was large for us - 2 adults with 14 and 10 yr old
-Nice clean pool for the kids.
-Fridge & coffee maker appreciated.
-We called for extra linens, service was fast.
-Front desk was friendly
-Close to the highway and local amenities.
-Restaurant for supper was good.
-Internet service was pretty fast

The Cons:

After a tiring day, we decided to sleep in Kingston on our way to New York. Since we were not sure whether we were to sleep in Albany or further, we had no advance reservations (mistake).

We usually prefer Hampton Inn (sold out) but headed over to this place.

We visited both a room and the 'suite'. We took the suite given the poor smell in the room. However, the hallways smelled of heavy cigarette smoke.


I would not stay again but for one night, we survived and aside from the smoky smell, the kids noticed nothing.

  • Liked — Pool, Location, Resto
  • Disliked — Bad smell in the hallways
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Langroch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2008

This hotel has terrible customer service! We arrived around 12:30 pm after quite a bit of travel that morning and the day before, hoping to take a nap prior to attending a wedding. We unloaded everything from the car and carried our bags into the lobby, where the girl behind the desk asked, "Checking in?" We said yes, whereupon she laughed and said gleefully, "No check-in until 2!" We really couldn't believe that there were no rooms ready, and she assured us (with a big smile) that the hotel had been full the night before so no rooms were ready.

Did no one check out early? Do they have enough housekeeping staff that they each make up one room right before 2pm so that they are all magically ready exactly at 2pm and not one second before? Based on the fact that housekeeping was banging down our door before 9 the next morning (even though they knew we were checking out that day, and checkout doesn't have to occur until 12), I would say that some rooms must be made up earlier than 2.

The people behind the front desk were completely rude and the hotel conditions really didn't make up for it. The next morning we took our business elsewhere for breakfast rather than patronize the restaurant attached to this terrible hotel. We will not be staying in a Quality Inn in the future.

  • Disliked — Service at the front desk
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank beckster04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

I was extremely disappointed in this hotel. In my opinion, it falls short of its three star rating. We were told that our reservation was a one bedroom suite in advance(we would not have booked had we known otherwise). When we arrived we were told it was not. This made for an uncomfortable stay since there was no door on the bedroom and there were three adults (including one married couple with an infant). I voiced my disappointment to the front desk person. No alternative (ie adjoining rooms etc) was offered to us. And the hotel was clearly not full. Our hotel room was on the 2nd floor of the hotel. We were told there was no elevator. We were in town for a trade show, and had several heavy items and a small child with baby gear. The only solution we were presented by the desk was to have a person (not identifiable with a name badge etc.) carry two of our items up the stairs at arrival. The rest of our weekend we had no other option but back breaking trips up an down two flights of stairs. I made the front desk person aware that we had heavy items. Again, no alternative offered (like a room on the first floor). When we arrived in the room there was no extra bedding for the sofa sleeper. The sofa sleeper was made up. But, there were no pillows. I called the desk twice for pillows. And then ended up going down myself to get them. I thought this was rediculous seeing how we paid more for this "suite" so an additional person would be able to stay in the room with us. The sink in one bathroom was clogged, there was hardly any hot water, the room was stuffy, and the pool was closed the entire duration of our stay.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank frostypurplemanatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
874 reviews
2.8 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
43 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
10.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Kingston

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Kingston
Address: 114 State Route 28, Exit 19 New York Thruway, Kingston, NY 12401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Quality Inn & Suites, a Kingston hotel in the heart of the Catskill Mountains. Perfectly located off Interstate 87 near Catskill Park, the Quality Inn & Suites™ hotel is less than four miles from the Hudson River Cruises. This Kingston, NY hotel is within 15 miles of Horse Shows In The Sun (HITS) and Bard College. The State University of New York at New Paltz (SUNY New Paltz) is only a short drive from the hotel. The Dutchess County Fairgrounds, home of the Dutchess County Fair and Rhinebeck Antiques Fair, is just minutes away. The Hudson Valley Garlic Festival, voted the number one Food Festival in the United States by USA Today , is also close by. Several shops and restaurants are in the surrounding area. Be sure to visit Roudigan's Steakhouse and the Hollywood Lounge, located on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Kingston Hotel Kingston
Quality Inn And Suites Kingston
Quality Inn Hotel Kingston
Quality Inn Kingston Ny
Kingston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing