We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Hickory BBQ Smokehouse
Ranked #30 of 224 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I actually saw this reviewed on Trip Advisor, and on the way up to the mountain, stopped for lunch. The atmosphere is simple and homey, the food is extraordinary. Everything we had, from the bbq chicken and ribs to the amazing sides was outstanding. The service was prompt and very friendly and the prices were so reasonable for the amount of food we ordered. Would return many times!

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 111 of 131 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very good food and lovely atmosphere. We sat on the booth by the bar. It seemed like they also have an outside seating but it was too cold...Cannot wait to go back there.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My son and I were looking for a place to celebrate my birthday after a day of skiing. We've driven past Hickory BBQ dozens of times but never stopped so since we were both in the mood for bbq we decided to give it a try. Smart choice!!

Given a choice of the dining room or bar area we picked dining since there was a loud group of regulars dropping f*** bombs all over the place at the bar. We had a very nice waitress and we both picked the smoked brisket over Texas toast. A lot of bbq joints don't serve brisket so I was hoping for the best. What a great surprise that it was excellent! HUGE PORTION, super moist and tender that you could cut with your fork. Nice smoke ring and flavor. Their sauce is very good as are the sides of mac & cheese, cole slaw and baked beans. The $18 price is a little steep but the meal is worth it.

We'll definitely be stopping again next time we're in the area and recommend it to anyone who likes good bbq.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gdr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The BBQ is one of the best tasting anywhere and especially the ribs which were tender and succulent.

Date of visit: October 2012
Thank Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just visited for the third time in the last month and love it. Fresh food expertly prepared and served by a nice staff. Our favorites are the Turkey thighs, ribs and lamb rib special. Meat is always moist and expertly smoked - I admit that as a KCBS member I can be hard on a BBQ place but not this one. Great wings to start off - Jerk and Buffalo are our faves as well as the onion rings and a special salmon cake that they had just the once.

The mother of the owner makes some killer desserts especially the key lime pie and chocolate blackout cake. Can't wait to try their catering services next summer for our company pig roast.

Date of visit: December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CJACKS48915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory BBQ Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Hickory BBQ Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing