We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For What It Is”
Review of Mid Hudson Buffet

Mid Hudson Buffet
Ranked #15 of 210 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“For What It Is”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We went memorial day and expected that we would be waiting to be seated. That was not the case and the booth was roomy enough for my generous frame. For the area and price this buffet is excellent.
That established, why the very good rating? I love spare ribs. Thiers could have done without that final brushing of sticky sweet sauce. I love snow crab. Theirs had a good turn-over.

My dinner companion choose to have a dish prepared for her. She offered me some when I was into the crab legs. It looked really good and I regret that taking her up on the offer. She was pleased with what she ate.

I found thin skinned dumplings that I had not had elsewhere and would have purchased some for take out if the filling had not turned out to be not as special as it looked. The pastry on the regular dumplings was overly thick. There were no spring rolls which I would have wanted to try. There were the egg rolls which I did not try. In fact, I was so well sated that there were many items that I did not get to try.

The service was surprising for a buffet in that it seemed that the waitress was attentive. The bill came to less than $30 for both of us before the tip. If I again visit Kingston, I will find it difficult to pass up returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nature_man1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    35
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“This is a quality buffet at an amazing price”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

I was frankly shocked at the quality of the well prepared offerings here, and for $7 ($6 with the coupon). Great variety of delicious dumplings, salmon filets, and on and on, but I kept saying to my wife that every dish was WELL PREPARED and delicious. Also the turnover is high since it's so popular, so the food is fresh and hot. The staff was pleasant and very cordial. Fellow diners seemed friendly, and smart for finding such a great value! It seems you can go any time all through the day and evening for the full experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dougiefresh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Buffet- show up early, it gets busy!”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This would be my favorite buffet in the Kingston area by far. Good food, constant turn over. Nothing sits for long (always a plus) the staff is prompt and on point. Overall a great buffet. Look for the coupon in the paper every week!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peachykeen099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food a Gong”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A Chinese Buffet, reasonably priced with the ability to gorge yourself. Both Chinese and American dishes, sushi, raw clams, oysters and snow crab legs are available. I usually eat to much.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT CHINESE FOOD”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We love the food at this restaurant. We eat here often the food is consistently good. My husband loves the dim sum and I love the fresh crab legs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mid Hudson Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Mid Hudson Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing