We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare Necessities - almost”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Superlodge Kingston
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here the weekend of the New York Sheep and Wool Festival, since by the time I went to book it was one of the few places left with vacancies. We paid $110/night for a non-smoking room with 2 queen sized beds. We certainly got what we asked for, the room was just a little worn. Decor was the teal/purple floral combination that was popular in the 90s, with peeling yellow wallpaper and a dusty wood TV cabinet. However, the place was clean, the bed was comfortable (enough), and we didn't have any problems. There was no refrigerator or coffee pot (although we didn't specifically request those, it would have been nice); they seem to be hoping you'll visit their diner on the property (we didn't.) Bath towels were about as thick as washcloths and very, very small, but again, clean and well stocked each day.

Overall, not somewhere I'd go out of my way to stay at again, but not somewhere I'd avoid either on return trips to the area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunKissedKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 91 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our room was clean and comfortable and the bath new. We were visiting friends in the area and stayed here two days. Excellent price for area,convient to highway ...eat at Disings..a Dutch bakery down the road.Would stay again.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank gardener46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The coffee and the pool were the best things about the Superlodge. There is not much competition in Kingston and the weekend was busy so we didn't have many choices. The price was high for this type of accommodation. The room was adequate although a little dreary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mermaid-emy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Reviews are always all over the place, so we were a little apprehensive. We found the Superlodge very clean and nice, and the price was reasonable at $69. We don't make reservations ahead of time, so we can be somewhat limited as to where we stay. We were very pleased with the location and the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Traveling from Florida to New Hampshire, we made a side trip for genealogical reasons. Most hotels were quite pricy, so I read the reviews and decided to give this a try. It must be an old Howard Johnson. The owners are rehabbing room by room I think. But our room was very clean, the bathroom was brand new. We did have a small problem with a sliding glass door, but it had a bar on it and a chain, so we felt safe. I'm sure if we had not, we could have changed room upon request.
The TV made us laugh. It's the old ones that I didn't even know still worked. Snowy and my husband had to sit in a chair right in front! But I didn't care. We were not in room long. We spent two nights and felt perfectly safe and comfortable. It is right off the highway....took one minute to get back on to continue our trip. And easy access into all parts of Kingston. I gave it only 3 stars because it's hard to give 4 or 5 when there are far nicer hotels (but for more money)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusMil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is what looks like a reconstituted Howard Johnson property. They have fixed up the rooms so they are in decent condition so it is acceptable. The bedding was an acceptable wueen size. However, paying $ 109.- with tax with no free breakfast is unacceptable. They do give you a card for 10% off or their adjoining Diner, but we will pass. It did not look attractive.
We also got a 2nd floor room which meant walking up stairs with luggage. The TV is an older box Magnavox. The bathroom has granite counters, but they only provided one packet of conditioner shampoo. The bath towels are paper thin.
The property does provide decent wifi in your room. Their is a small indoor pool which we did not use.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank bsorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is an older motel, but the new owners are trying to upgrade the facility. For the price and location, it deserves your consideration. The old analog TV and ill-fitting doors might put you off, but the carpet was clean, the sheets changed daily, and the bathroom has been re-done. Very convenient to the highway and downtown. Give it try and I think you will not be displeased.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more quiet. Rooms on the second floor will make you feel more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TampaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#7 of 10 in Kingston
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
333 reviews
3 mi away
Church des Artistes Guest House
3.1 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#2 of 8 in Kingston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superlodge Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superlodge Kingston

Address: 129 State Route 28, Kingston, NY 12401-7447
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Hotel Class:2 star — Superlodge Kingston 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Superlodge Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superlodge Kingston Hotel Kingston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing