We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and comfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Redding, CT, United States
1 review
“Clean and comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was in the Woodstock NY area for a show and wanted to find someplace clean, convenient and close so I wouldn't have to drive too far. The Hampton Inn in Kingston was close, and I was pleasantly surprised by how clean and comfortable the hotel and rooms were. It was easy to get to from Woodstock after the show, and easy to go back to town for brunch the next day

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Timothy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    225
    48
    15
    18
See reviews for
308
225
43
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maple Shade, NJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

This review is overdue from the first week of April, 2013. This was our 3rd or 4th time there which should tell you something. Newer facility. Very clean. Beds very comfortable. Staff is quite accommodating and friendly. Well managed. Pool is very clean and a nice size (though there is no hot tub). Yes, it does front on a Taco Bell and CVS. The rear is more scenic though the train passes closely by. Some reviewers found this to be annoying though I found it to be fun.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat. It is very clean and well managed. Our group enjoyed the cleanliness and the breakfast as well. It is convenient to the various locations that we wanted to visit in the Hudson Valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

The location of this hotel is really odd. There's a CVS and a Taco Bell right in front of the hotel, along with a Dunkin Donuts and I don't remember what else. But, its strange to have to drive past these places and their congestion to get to the hotel parking lot. Parking can be a bit tight at the hotel too. Our second night there, we felt lucky to find a parking space. So, as long as I'm on the subject of things that had me raising my eyebrows... the employees were nice, but not efficient for the most part. We arrived well after 3pm for check in. We were told that we would have to wait an hour for rooms to be cleaned. Really? After 3pm? Its not like we were checking in early. We asked for a second room so that the family would have more space, and were told that if they had a cancellation, we'd be notified. We weren't. When we called down the next morning to inquire if they'd had any cancellations yet, the woman who answered the phone was unaware that we had requested another room and they had just given one away. Irritating. OH! Almost forgot the train! There's a train that blasts through sometime in the wee hours of the morning that actually makes the room shake. Really. I thought this was a myth, but the furniture actually rattled and shook. We were in room 325 the first night and 317 the second.

So... for positives... the room was immaculate and we had plenty of towels (that made me really happy). Breakfast was provided - it was the usual spread and it was okay. Cookies were always in the little kitchen area so we could grab one on our way in or out at any time (that was nice). There was always coffee and hot chocolate in that same area any time you wanted it. Aside from the roaring train, the hotel was relatively quiet.

Would I stay there again? Probably not. But, if I was going to be in that area again and couldn't find another hotel to try, and I had to stay here, I'd request a room across the hall to be further away from the train.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side of the hotel that is furthest away from the train tracks. Rooms 325 and 317 pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have nothing but nice things to say about this hotel. Very comfortable stay, courteous staff, quiet, impeccably clean. Breakfast was typical HI which is top in the category. We did enjoy the fresh apples and warm cookies that were available on arrival. Restaurants within walking distance were limited and it is a bit of a challenge crossing the main highway on foot. There are better choices in town but require a car trip.

The property misses the top ranking because of value. With tax, our bill was north of $160 (senior rate).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

nice hotel - spacious and very comfortable, nicely furnished room, nice public areas, good sized pool. good quality breakfast included. friendly staff, who gave great advice re local dining options, sightseeing and travelling directions. free business centre.
All added up to a relaxing overnight stay in a reliable chain. Only down side was the railtrack nearby with trains running throughout the night and sounding their horns- front facing room may have minimised this.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room if train noise bothers you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family went on a short trip this past 4th of July week and stayed here for one night. I can say the rooms were very clean, linens stocked well and fresh, and it is very kid friendly with the pool. They had some balls and noodles to play with the kids in the pool, and it was only five foot deep, so not much to worry about. We have a 9,7,2 year old with us and it was a comfortable stay. Clean Quiet, and close to malls, restaurants, and the NYS thruway. We enjoyed it, staff was very friendly and accomodating and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place for families.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor room 205, not much of a view but a comfortable clean room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#2 of 3 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
13.4 mi away
Catskill Mountain Lodge
Catskill Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Palenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Property: Hampton Inn Kingston
Address: 1307 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-1514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing