We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but obsolete dangerous CC policy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Great hotel, quiet, great beds, good free breakfast. However, they are still taking a credit card imprint at checkin. There is my name, my full credit card number and expiry date on a piece of paper they keep for 7 years. Unacceptable today.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
4  Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 916 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I travel a lot. We enjoy travelng and staying in different hotels. This trip was a surprise for my wife just to get away and relieve some stress and relax. I made the arrangements and the woman that aswered the phone was extremely helpful. I explained that i would like to surprise my wife, but wasn't sure if we had plans for the evening already. I was concerned about your cancellation policy. I was told that I needed 24 hours notice to cancel without penalty. I explained the reservation was for that evening and I didn't have 24 hours to start with (more like 8 hours). She spoke to someone else and said no problem,and she would make a note in the computer. AWESOME customer service !! We arrived at the hotel and the staff was friendly, and helpful. They even recommended a local resturant to dine at. However, the next morning we awoke in pain and discomfort because the bed and pillows were way too soft. I know you cannot please everyone when it comes to bed preferences, but I feel the need to say something. As well the 'hot tub" was very small and not very romantic for two. For the $220.00 a night, overall not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Aaron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Pool was very warm, even the air was heated to a warm temperature. Nice location, easy access to restaurants and shopping malls. Lobby was very nice and the staff was terrific. Overall, a great value.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Always exceptional, always spotless, quiet and the best Hampton Inn anywhere. We had a delightful stay and one small issue - a TV reception issue beyond the hotel's control - was addressed immediately and decisively.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denitzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

My father died April 6th at 2:15 in the morning at Northern Dutchess Hospital in Rhinebeck, NY. I had traveled all day Friday from Albuquerque, NM to be with him.
I was unfamiliar with the roads in Rhinebeck, especially at night and I was exhausted both physically and emotionally. I arrived at the Hampton Inn in Kingston after 3 am in the morning without a reservation. Winston checked me in and was so very kind because I could hardly think straight. In the morning, under my door, was a sympathy card from Winston and other staff. It was so unexpected and kind! I will never forget it. I hope you give Winston a reward for going the extra mile. Gwen Barnhart

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Hampton Inn is the Hilton chain's mid-price level product. They are most often a high value for the dollar but there is variability in their performance. The Hampton Inn in Kingston, NY [on Rt. 9W] is a jewel. Access off I-87 is easy. Access off Rt. 9W is quite easy. Staff are remarkably helpful, rooms are modest but quite clean and comfy. It is clear that this is a well-managed facility. We stayed on a Monday night, non-holiday period and found it nearly sold out. We wondered at this until we did an intense critique. It sold out that night because people have found it a very nice accommodation along the NY State Thruway. This is a high recommend: Staff make their guests feel well treated!

Room Tip: Stay on the north side to avoid hearing the train that runs behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This property seems typical of Hampton Inns everywhere: good value, clean, comfortable, free parking, breakfast included. They are not going for style or personality, but do functionality and convenience well.

This one is located on a street that had available multiple chain and fast food restaurants, as well as other retailers. This came in handy when I walked over to the adjoining CVS pharmacy for some aspirin, then went to the adjoining Taco Bell when my family got the late night munchies.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank traveldan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
327 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
8.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Address: 1307 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-1514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $119 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing