We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great overnight spot if you're planning on skiing/snowboarding in Hunter Mountain.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great overnight spot if you're planning on skiing/snowboarding in Hunter Mountain.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose to stay at the Hampton Inn in Kingston when we decided to go snowboarding in Hunter Mtn one snowy weekend in January 2013. They had a special offer - for every night stayed, guests receive a day lift pass per person (max. 2 ppl) at Hunter Mtn. This was a good deal because a wkend day lift pass is about $70 pp!

The lobby area was cozy and clean. I liked the fact that they had hot drinks and some cookies/fruits in the dining area throughout the day so when we came back from snowboarding, there was hot chocolate available. The staff were also polite and friendly.

We tried to use the pool but it was too
small to accomodate all the guests and the kids who were in there. I wanted to do a couple of laps but that would have been impossible. It was busy all evening even when we came back at 9.30pm.

The breakfast options were limited but that was ok since I thought it was a bonus that they served breakfast at all. The line to get food was a bit chaotic and the dining area was too small to accomodate all the guests. Some of us had to bring breakfast back to our rooms and ate there.

The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable. We were on the 1st floor, with our window facing the front parking lot/entrance. It was noisy at times because we could hear the snow removal trucks outside intermittently throughout our stay. Also, it was a bit of an inconvenience that there was only one set of vending machines/ice machine available to guests and that was in the ground floor by the lobby.

The location of this hotel was great. There were plenty of restaurants around, a bank nearby, 24 hour CVS, dunkin donuts and close enough to the Target and the mall.

All in all, it was a better choice than staying in one of the B&Bs near Hunter because the hotel was clean/comfortable, in a convenient location and it was good calue for money. We wanted wifi and all the amenities of a chain hotel, and we got what we paid for.

We will definitely stay at this hotel again next time we visit Hunter and perhaps when we also visit Wyndham Mtn.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lex y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    210
    43
    15
    17
See reviews for
281
216
42
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location, you have everything you need, its a very clean hotel, hot breakfast is delicious, rooms are very clean, restaurants are very close by, highly recommend this hotel!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have been staying here on the way to weekend ski trips in the Catskills. Like other Hampton Inns - great hotel for the value. Clean, with all the services you'd expect. Lots of families here - partly because of the pool. The rooms are in great condition and the breakfast is what you'd expect from Hampton.

Location is good too - very close to the highway but on the main Kingston retail strip so access to all the retail.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevator is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJ425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Coming from 2 weeks in manhattan from a starwood prefernce hotel we werent sure what to expect...the reality is that we were much happier and comfortable here!!! And a 1/3 of the price!! When we booked we werent so sure where we would end up, but this place is wonderful if you plan to go skiing around the area. Yes...its about a 50 min drive to a sky resort, but there are 3 mountains to go to. The staff is friendly, helpful and efficient...from the manager to the janitor. Wi fi is complementary, as it should be, while in ny city they cahrged 20 bucks per day! They have simple complimentary breakfast, not wonderful, but you really dont need more: bagels, fruit, creals, yoghurts. There is not really anything around the town, but the commercial area of the hotel gets you by and entertained, with a mall, target, costco, restaurants and shops justs crossing the street. The train does go by, but no one in my party minded it. We were happy and relaxed in this simple clean hotel. What you pay is what you get, plus the hotel is almost new!! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veroagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

.All of the staff was polite and helpful. The room was neat and clean. The location of the hotel is very convenient for Kingston. It is located in the shopping area. The breakfast with the room was more than enough. The women who put the food out were very busy insuring nothing ran out during breakfast. What I liked the best was the size of our shower area it was huge. There were no regular rooms left so we ended up with a handicap room. The shower I would guess would be able to accommodate a wheel chair. It was a large shower area. I would return to this hotel again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBevanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is located 25 yards from a main rail line, with trains moving and blowing their whistles pretty much all night long. Walls and floors are paper-thin. It is one of the noisiest places I have ever stayed, bar none!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolholznik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIKingston, General Manager at Hampton Inn Kingston, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the noise issue you encountered from nearby transit while visiting us. We know how important a good night's rest is and regret not being able to provide this for you. If we may be of any assistance or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.

Thank you,
Ramona Vazquez
General Manager]
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

The staff was proactive in offering a foldaway for our adult daughter who was traveling with us. They were cheerful, fun-loving, and a joy to talk to. We had booked the jacuzzi suite with our Hilton Honors points and were very impressed with the whole suite.

Room Tip: The jacuzzi suite was very clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
7.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Property: Hampton Inn Kingston
Address: 1307 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-1514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing