We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise from trains horrendous!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Kingston
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 14, 2011

This hotel is situated not 100 feet from a busy train track. If you are looking for a good nights sleep this is definitely not the hotel for you! There were long black hairs in my wife’s bed and on the bathroom towels. (Hampton inn boast bed linen being changed after every guest, not in this case!)

All that said, the breakfast was good, the staff were friendly and helped where ever they could especially Farrah on the front desk.

Room Tip: Try the court yard accross the road you may get a better nights sleep. If you have to stay reserve a...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyandSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn Kingston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 891 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

Recently stayed for business. Modern and clean hotel. The staff was very pleasant and the breakfast was excellent. A little to close to the train tracks for me (rear of hotel), but I did not hear any after 10pm. The front desk did have earplugs so I took a pair. Again, after 10pm I did not hear any trains running through.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetsMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

As last year in New England, this year we again used Hamptons for 'one night stands' whilst 'leaf peeping' in NYS and Pennsylvania.

Friendly greetings, clean rooms, good beds and bathroom. What more do we want at this price range?

Personally I liked the train horn blaring in the distance - it reminded me I was in the States.

Exceptionally friendly hotel director Sandra sat with us after breakfast and worked through our route pointing out places of interest. No problem in recommending this hotel at all.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CurtisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Clean, comfortable, modern well located with friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oped01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a great place to stay. Rooms are clean and in great shape. Beds are really comfortable. It's not too noisy except for the train. Earplugs take care of that. Sometimes the trains make the beds sway. This hasn't bothered me at all.
The CVS in front of the hotel is super convenient for those "I forgot my hairbrush" moments.

I stay there every year in the fall and will continue to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Icg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Although Hampton Inns are similar they are not all the same. This one is really nice. The reception area is large and nicely appointed. Our room with two queen beds and other furniture is somewhat crowded, but very clean, comfortable beds, and a roomy bathroom. The hotel is located on main street with the usual big box stores and chain restaurants. It is easy to reach, but we our room was very quiet. The breakfast is ample, with lots of choices. It is centrally located in the Hudson River Valley, and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, facing the back.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a very comfortable and relaxing sleep and it was very clean as well as their breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank browniiz62257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
16.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
170 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Kingston

Address: 1307 Ulster Ave, Kingston, NY 12401-1514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: $120 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Kingston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing