We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Service at the bar”

Roudigan's Steakhouse
Ranked #105 of 208 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Roudigan's Steakhouse is a casual steakhouse famous for our Aged USDA prime steaks that are cooked on a mesquite grill. In addition to our famous steaks, we feature seafood, chicken, and pasta dishes. We also have lighter fare options during dinner hours. Our lunch menu features great burgers, sandwiches, paninis, and fajitas. We are open for breakfast as well and feature all your favorite breakfast items. Be sure to call us about our breakfast buffet on the weekends.
Boston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Poor Service at the bar”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

If the bartender spent more time paying attention to her customers, it would have been a much more pleasant experience eating at the bar!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennyd44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    26
    14
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cutchogue, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have been here several times and food is great. Love the salad bar, and they cook the beef right in the dining room. We had a wonderful, filling meal and very well priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank sally718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Went with a group of friends to celebrate a friend's birthday....was unhappy with the service, the food, the prices and the decor ... Waitress was slow, absent and unknowledgeable about the food and the prices. Couldn't answer questions about prices of things (which I honestly think is their plan to sell more food as a lot less would have been ordered if the prices were known) but did offer to go find out, which would have further delayed things and made you look cheap so we nixed the offer. This ultimately proved to cause the biggest complaint of the evening....when asked how much more the lobster tail was than the jumbo shrimp with the combo she didn't know...offered to find out but her presence at the table was already too scarce so didn't push it...just ordered the stuffed lobster tail instead (the menu I believe states "for a little more"... Well, that little more turned out to be 13 each plus another 6 for crab stuffing (no crab evident in the dry pile of bread) piled on the lobster. This brought the price of the delmonico combo from 27.95 up to $47. for the combo...thank God I didn't order mushrooms or onions or anything else the waitress offered which are apparently all ala carte. I don't mind paying as much for a great dinner with ambience and excellent service, but this really irked me. The salad bar was the best part and that was self serve and honestly not great either. The garlic mashed potatoes were hard and barely warm. The steak was ok - found a bit of tendons, flavor acceptable. We had our salads and proceeded to wait for our dinners, thankfully the company was great and we laughed and chatted for quite awhile, but we slowly realized time was passing by and we had seen nobody (except for a kid who collected the salad plates and brought water occasionally. After at least a half hour of no waitress, nobody saying sorry for the wait it's coming, etc., a woman wandered in and asked how everything was... we let her know that obviously we were waiting and waiting a long time....she left and came back and said it was coming now. 5 minutes later the food arrived. No apologies or explanations. For these prices wait staff should be all over you like white on rice. Not the case here. The decor consisted of old lazer discs applied to the upper walls....talk about tacky, and our table had a life of it's own, moving and tipping with any movement at the table. All in all my friends made the evening lovely, and luckily we did not allow the dinner or service to dampen our spirits (oh yeah, the cosmos were also unremarkable - too red and not much vodka for 9.50 each). I honestly had a tastier lunch and better service with my mother the week before at Friendlys for $20. When the bill for my daughter and myself came for $132.00 I nearly choked. Lesson learned

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hubby found it AWESOME in June, July was OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hubby dragged me here as he LOVED it in june. there were 4 of us for supper on one night, staying in the hotel. drinks were TINY for the $ (but he doesn't drink) but very good. steaks cooked just right. sauces were good (an extra charge, but very good). salad bar was routine but OK. service was OK. nothing to complain about, good meal, left with no issues, but i just didn't think it was as awesome as he did in June.
in the morning, however, they would not honor the hotel's poster for free breakfast with all the trimmings - tried to charge us an extra $4 for more than cereal and a roll. hotel comped us, but the hotel gal was fuming also. food was OK, but not great. personally I wouldn't eat there again EVER for breakfast, but would if it were convenient for supper. guess i had too high an expectation after his June review - it really was OK.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Margaritas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

want a nice Margarita with your lunch? nice fresh salad bar. I have only been there twice but enjoyed it both times!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MapleHillGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roudigan's Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Roudigan's Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing