We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“In Season Rate, In Off Season” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Kingston

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Kingston
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“In Season Rate, In Off Season”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

It's a nice enough hotel. Other reviewers have pointed out it's location being challenging, but they take the Marriott welcome seriously; and it's a pleasant stay. The views are limited as you are tucked into the corner of a regional mall. That said, the sole quibble is the rate. However the innkeeper has the right, and if they can fill the rooms to the degree they require, then that's the rate. I choose the brand because I don't care for surprises when I arrive late, and their track record is near flawless for me.

Another positive note: I had breakfast not included in my room rate, but the service and food were very nice before heading out for the day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue_Water_Lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Kingston Courtyard by Marriott. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    116
    39
    18
    8
See reviews for
100
81
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We found the Courtyard to be clean, inviting, and very comfortable. The breakfast was great. There is no view and it is located in the midst of shopping centers. However, it was quiet and convenient for our purposes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and kind words. It is always appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Sandy rid us of our power. we found courtyard marriott in kingston, as did many other families. The staff was very caring and helpful from the front desk to Frankie who cleaned our room and left us extra coffee and towels! They did all they could to make us comfortable. And the hotel is located a few hundred feet from a mall and movies. The kids were on vacation. Untill we returned to school.

Room Tip: all rooms seemed fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcstarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review of the Kingston Courtyard. Hurricane Sandy impacted so many lives and we are so happy we could make that difficult time for you and your family a little brighter. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future under better circumstances.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We ended up booking a reservation last minute due to Hurricane Sandy. The facility was very clean. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The only downside was that there was no on premise restaurant/cafe of any kind. They only had a buffet breakfast in the morning, which was decent. Otherwise, would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope that during the difficult time we could be of help and make your stay comfortable. We are starting renovation in the first part of 2013, so when you return we will have a Bistro with breakfast and dinner service, with a full service Starbucks. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, NY
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

First off; we had a terrible experience being a local homeowner and contacting ANOTHER hotel up in Saugerties, where we live, for an 'odd request'. I recently became debilitated due to cancer so I cant climb my house steps to my upstairs bathroom to take a shower. So, out of desperation, I decided to call around for use of a 'handi cap' accessible bathroom at a local hotel. I would JUST need the bathroom for an hour, in and out. I have NO problem paying a fee, just hoped I could get a better price considering the room was still rentable after I left at 6pm. Either way...The Comfort Inn in Saugerties would NOT work with me at ALL on the nightly rate! And, to top it off, their 'accessible' bathrooms are a JOKE....and dirty with mold. I had a VERY hard time using their cramped, handi cap UNfriendly facilities. And this, after paying $89 nt for a 1 hour shower time! I wrote THEM a review too!

THIS SAID; A family member of mine contacted THE COURTYARD MARRIOT in Kingston, NY and discussed my situation. THEY offered their top of the line 'roll in' handi cap bathroom/shower FREE of use to me as long as I use it between check out and check in...and that the housekeepers of that floor were willing to clean it after me. Yes! They agreed to help me out! What wonderful woman! (Helen!) I tried it out today..and it was awesome! Every 'bell and whistle' for a disabled person. THIS place knows how to treat people...not only someone in need, like me, but all handi capped folks in general. With dignity! Just on that principle alone....BOOK 'EM! Thanks to the whole Marriott team for welcoming me. Good Karma!

Room Tip: If your handi capped, THIS is the place to stay. A nice, easy roll in or walk in shower with a showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UpstateNYGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I am so happy that we could accomodate your needs. We know how difficult it can be to find accessible facilities when they are needed. We look forward to being able to assist you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

It's in the parking of the Hudson Mall, so if you don't have nothing to do in the evening, now you know!
Staff is nice and friendly. Buffet breakfast is diversified with fruits, yogurt, bread, oatmeal, cereals and if you prefer, there is the full breakfast option with eggs, bacon, etc. You have to pay for it, not included in the price of the room, the price is very decent, so not a problem.
We were given a handicapped room so it was roomy.
The bed is too soft for my liking and if you are 2 in the bed, expect it to be moving with every move of your partner! And I mean, every twitching of the toe!
The shower liner had mold stains, that, I really did not like... Dusting cold be done better also.
But I would consider going back.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Betsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry that you experienced any issues. I will address them immediately and appreciate you bringing them to my attention. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, michigan
Level Contributor
149 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel was newer looking, very clean. The pool was nice, but hot tub was only 100 degrees...not very warm. There's no breakfast included but can be bought for $8.95 per person. Coffee is free in lobby, but there is a coffee maker in room but only enough for 1 cup. There's a mini fridge but no microwave. Beds are comfy. Location is good across Hudson river from rhinebeck and mansions, near newer shopping areas, away from depressed downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank victoryah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
3.0 of 5 stars 145 reviews
7.4 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kingston

Property: Courtyard Kingston
Address: 500 Frank Sottile Blvd, Kingston, NY 12401-1547
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful Catskill Mountains, the Courtyard by Marriott Kingston should be your destination hotel when traveling to the Hudson Valley, with our newly renovated lobby, featuring The Bistro and Starbucks, and our brand new guest rooms. We are just minutes from the New York State thruway (I-87) and many exciting destinations and events. Experience Rip Van Winkle River Cruises, Woodstock, HITS-ON-THE-HUDSON, The Omega Institute, Rhinebeck, Dutchess County Fairgrounds, beautiful hikes, outdoor activities and some of the best skiing/snowboarding around at, Hunter, Belleayre or Windham ski resorts. Also Kingston is the first capital of New York, the area is filled with history and pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Marriott
Kingston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing