We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot”
Review of Santa Fe

Santa Fe
Ranked #16 of 209 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Santa Fe Uptown is an off-shoot of longtime Tivoli, NY favorite, Santa Fe. A warm, inviting and festive atmosphere sets the scene for a fun meal of the freshest ingredients along with the best tequila selection in Ulster County. Committed to serving all natural, always fresh, made-from-scratch menu items, Santa Fe Uptown has quickly gained the reputation of being one of Kingston's most popular restaurants.Santa Fe Uptown features a large yet cozy U-shaped bar that has been a local gathering place for over 50 years (when it was known as 11 Main). There are two intimate dining rooms with boldly colored walls and filled with the twinkle of the 100+ candles that are lit nightly.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fun spot”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

I've always had a good time here. I think the staff is young and fun and the food is decent. I wish it wasn't so cramped though. I usually end up sitting at the bar because the tables are almost on top of each other.

Helpful?
2 Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    25
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great Mexican!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Great Mexican restaurant in Kingston. Lots of gluten free choices. Food was fresh, well presented and well prepared. Service was fantastic. Water glasses were refilled before we even knew we needed more! Highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lspiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always top notch food and service”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have dined here on several,occasions and are never disappointed by the food or drink. The house wine is delicious and they make a mean Margarita . Fresh food , fair portions and I like that they sneak vegetables into everything they serve .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank phytowoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't recommend”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Feeling hungry asked the help for a recommendation, for something filling. She suggested the steak quesadilla. Was told it came with a side of salad or rice. Turned out it was tiny portions of greasy bar food, not even good as an appetizer. I might have gotten another dish, but not after the quesadilla. The side of rice was bland, just rice and they charged me $3 for the 'included' side.
To summarize, the help wasn't helpful, food average and overcharged.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmicRay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anniedemos, Owner at Santa Fe, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your recent meal at Santa Fe Uptown. Our top priority is that guests leave our restaurant thoroughly satisfied - both with the quality of their food as well as the portion they received. I apologize that your dissatisfaction wasn't communicated to the manager as it would have been addressed immediately with a new meal. At the very least we would have adjusted your bill. I am happy to report that your complaint is far from what we normally hear about our food, service and portions and once more am sorry you didn't experience what most of our guests do. Hope you'll give us another try in the future, I'm sure your opinion of us will change!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh,good food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had dinner there one night at the recomendation of friends before a concert,they were not wrong.The food was very good,the protions could have been a little more generous,but other wise no complaints.Service was very good and friendly,the food was very tasty and the price was right.Plus being in a hurry to get to the concert in Baersville,they were very helpful in getting our food on the table quickly.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Fe also viewed

 

Been to Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing