We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep On Driving”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
scituate, ma
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Keep On Driving”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed one night here while passing through on our way to Lake George. It served as a place to crash, and had we had more time, we would have continued looking for a decent room to sleep in. That is the only reason anyone should ever stay here, especially given the fact that the rate was $130!

The setting is nice, on a hill with pine trees and a pretty pool. At one time I'm sure this was a nice motel, but that was long ago. The pool was not in service and the property had not been nicely maintained, let alone updated. Our room was dirty - black hair in the sink and tub, which was grungy. Towels were thin and stained. Pillows should have been replaced long ago. Mattress was hard. Daddy-long-leg spiders on the ceiling. I never put my bare feet on the carpet, and kept the blanket and coverlet down at the bottom of the bed for fear it would touch me. Beware!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harborette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear value guest: Thank you for chosing our property at the time, although we do apologize for your bad experiences. I am sure if we were made aware of the issues i personally would've tried my very best as usual to better accomodate you. Due to the location of the property and the bushy area maybe that is the reason you saw a spider, i am not exactly sure since this is random. We do hope you can give us a second chance so we can give you the best hospitality.

Thank you,
FOM-Nazima Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    28
    35
    68
See reviews for
50
38
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Freeville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I travel every single week for work. I actually gave this place a second chance. Well, that was a big mistake. In the middle of the night the toilet backed up, all the way to the top of the rim, AND, I woke to a bug crawling on me in the bed....I suspected a roach. I went to the front desk to find a note on the door, "Closed 12 AM to 8 AM." I decided to pack up my things and leave. Go about 2 miles up the road and stay at the Quality Inn and Suites for nearly the same price and get a free hot to order breakfast in the morning, nice workout room, great restaurant on site. Actually the only good thing about the Rodeway is the restaurant next door. But, the Rodeway breakfast is a joke. Nothing but sweet junk and terrible coffee. Quality Inn is better, hands down. Oh, and yes, I did speak to management about the problem I encountered in the night, they agreed to reimburse for only 2 of the four nights when I actually only occupied the room for one night.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this place, there are plenty of other good hotels in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Value Guest: We would like to thank you for staying with us but, we are apologizing for your inconveniences. We do apologize that your toilet was clogged but that could be for a few reasons. I do wish you would have call the desk because someone is always available to answer the phone or attend to any issue. The note say "After midnight please call or ring bell" but we did'nt receieve any of the above to settle the issues and we apologize that you had to go to another property. Due to the location of the proberty is on a hill top bushy area you probally saw an insect or something if the door was left open for a little too long or so but, it's definitely not roache(s). I am very happy that you found a place that you all were satisfied with. We do hope you can give us a second chance to make your stay better.

Thank you,
Nazima Ali-FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston hotels

2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a modest, shabby motel that is nonetheless rather pleasant because of its quiet rooms (I fell asleep to the chirping of crickets) and friendly staff. It is a bargain compared to several comparable motels I've stayed at during horse show season. The steakhouse is reasonably priced and pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your bust schedule to place this comment about your stay. Thank you and we would love to have you back.

Thank you,
FOM-Nazima Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

I have never seen a more filthy moldy hotel in my life. Had to see a doctor after only one night of toxic mold there. If this is your only choose, sleep in your car! The bathroom sink was clogged and the rug looked like a dirt floor. The refrigerator did not work, but leaked water on the floor. The only way to clean this place would be with the use of a bulldozer and a wrecking ball...

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Our value customer, we are apologizing for your inconveniences although we did not find the mold issue as listed. We have had other guest stayed in this room previously and was very happy acutally. I wish you had make us aware of this issue at the time of your stay. But we would like for you to give us a second chance to make your stay better. We would like to also thank you for taking the time to leave this comment which will help us a great deal to better our property and service.

Thank you,
Nazima Ali-FOM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

No hot water; Refrigerator in our room didn't work. In adjoining room thermostat on A/c didn't work. Bathroom was hardly cleaned after first night. Pool was AOK. Location pretty good- very near Rt 87. Bed was OK. Room was quiet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexKiczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
It was a pleasure have all of you as our guest Mr. Alex, especially the very nice gentleman that was with you all. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment. We apologize for all the inconveniences. We appreciate your concern which will help us to correct all the problems. Refrigerators worked but the entrance switch had to stay on. We would love to have you here again to make sure your stay is more comfortable.


Thank you,
Nazima
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Budget motel a nice surprise! Quiet hilltop location with beautiful pool and decent rooms. The staff was friendly and we were centrally located for day trips to Woodstock, hiking in the mountains, and Hudson river. Will stay here again! (Don't expect a great breakfast or super comfortable beds, but for a night or two, just fine).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackBear213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2012
Management would like to thank you for taking the time to place this comment. We would love to have you visit us again.


Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

While on a 4 day visit to the Catskill area a friend and I stayed here. He had booked the room. Beds were fine but pillows were either too hard or too soft. I found litter still under the bed from, I presume, other visitors. Bathroom was a little gringy, with dark spots on the shower wall and wall paper coming off the wall. The last evening we were there I killed 5 ants on the bathroom floor. Not sure where they came from. Also on the last night the Wi-Fi was down.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
We appreciate your time and effort for placing this comment which will help us to better our business. It was our pleasure haveing you as our guest. We do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Although it would have been better id you would have brought this to out attention while you were here. We were not aware of any of the issues. We apologize for the wi-fi issue due to a thunder storm. We would like for you to give us another chance so we can make your stay better.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
849 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
37 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
7.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 239 Forest Hill Dr, Route 28 West, Kingston, NY 12401-7479
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now a Rodeway Inn "You'll come for the View, Stay for the Service" Our 60 large and well-equipped inexpensive hotel rooms all have free wireless Internet access. Excellent restaurant and microbrewery, in summer an outdoor pool, in winter easy access to all Catskill Mountain ski resorts. Free continental breakfast is served in the lobby and the gazebo outside overlooking the old city of Kingston NY. Rooms include microwave/refrigerator, new tvs, and updated furniture and bathrooms. Skytop's location makes it ideal for business travel and family vacations in the Hudson Valley region of New York State at the foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Skytop is located just outside the historic city of Kingston, first capital of New York State. City buses take you into the city for sightseeing and shopping. Trailways buses out of 42nd Street in NYC stop one mile away at the Kingston bus station. A short drive takes you to Woodstock and Phoenicia, Saugerties and "Horseshows in the Sun" (HITS), Belleayre and Hunter and Windham ski resorts, Rhinebeck, Bard College, Omega Institute, Indian Point Energy Center, New Paltz, Stone Ridge, High Falls and Monticello, and via the Thruway to airports at Albany and Newburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Kingston
Rodeway Inn Kingston
Kingston Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing