We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Kingston Bed & Breakfast

A Kingston Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Kingston Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Freiburg
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spend 1 night at the B&B, because Kingston is good for a stop over, only. We stopped there before returning to JFK airport. The private bathroom was not accesible directly from our room, but there were dressing gowns available, so it was no problem. The atmosphere in the B&B was excellent and the Polish owner was very friendly. The breakfast with scrambled eggs and smoked salmon and fresh melon was of high quality, so we enjoyed the stay very much. WIFI was a little bit weak and did not work properly in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reblaeufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The best part of our weekend was the comforting thought that we had a cozy and friendly place to retire to at the end of each day. Our hostess was inviting, sincerely interested in our adventures, sage in her advice of fun local sites and excellent restaurants and hilarious to chat with.

My nephew's wedding date was announced last March 2013 in Red Hook, NY - a 4 hour drive for us from Philadelphia.
We decided to make a long weekend of it, avoiding the mediocre chain hotel option on the invitation. Villages worthy of site seeing, exploring and boutiquing was the goal of our internet search. We narrowed it down to two historic village-like towns within 30 minutes of the wedding. Between the two towns, Kingston and Reinbeck, 'A Kingston Bed & Breakfast' looked the nicest of all the B & B's.
Our good choice was confirmed and re-confirmed daily with a sound sleep and delicious fresh homemade breakfast. Staying for the weekend offered us relaxed visits through local culture - in this case a cruise down the Hudson River, a local farmers market, boutique shopping, Mass at an historic church and an Irish Fest.
We liked our stay so much that we plan on going back for the fall foliage and the Burning of Kingston event, staying at A Kingston Bed & Breakfast, of course.

Room Tip: Book early! We stayed in the best room available - the Babe Ruth room. It was quiet, with very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As I planned my getaway to the Hudson Valley, I immediately looked into the standard hotel chains in Kingston. I was quite surprised by how expensive they were, so I opted for the B&B option instead....so glad I did! The inn is centrally located and it is easy to get around. The rooms are charming, historical, yet with most of the modern conveniences (except WiFi) you would expect. There is more to this B&B than bricks and mortar, and that is where Alicja fits in. She made me feel like I was coming home each evening. She quickly reads how each visitor wants to be treated and is very attentive to all the details. As I was traveling alone, she stepped in as my friend to unwind with at the end of my long day traversing the nearby attractions. As we sat drinking a glass of red wine in the sitting room one evening, I laughed thinking how this would never happen at a big hotel chain. The breakfasts were simple and delicious and she quickly reads your preferences and addresses them going forward. For the same price I could have stayed at the Hampton Inn near the railroad tracks and ate breakfast at a diner each day....but I would not have walked away with the great stories and a warm feeling in my heart as I did by staying here. A great value for all you get...some of which is priceless.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at a lovely B&B in Kingston where we were made to feel very welcome by the owner Alicia.
The rooms were beautifully decorated and furnished and the breakfasts were delicious.

Having never been to this part of the USA before it was easy to access all of the interesting places to visit from here.

I would highly recommend you staying in this restored house with many original features that have been lovingly restored.

Alicia made us feel so welcome and I would love to be able to return again and stay in her B&B.

Room Tip: I stayed the first night at the rear of the house and the following 3 nights at the front and whilst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Two friends and I stayed at the Kingston B&B for two nights while attending a wedding in the area. Whereas it looked relatively non-descript from the outside in a non-descript neighborhood, as soon as entered the house we were wowed by its elegant beauty. The period furniture, the large modern bedrooms and bathrooms, the rugs on the floor, and the wonderful breakfasts prepared by Alicia, the innkeeper, made us feel as if we had stumbled on a real find. We couldn't have been happier with the accomodations and Alicia's non-intrusive hospitality. The beautiful music that Alicia played thoughout the day was another delightful touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weirton, West Virginia, Usa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This beautifully restored Victorian is trumped only by the gracious inn keeper, Alicja. She is gracious, interesting conversationalist and keeps a clean, orderly and lovely home. In a short time, we felt like warmly welcomed old friends. She is an outstanding cook and uses the finest ingredients. The B&B is located in the historic district of Kingston with many interesting sites and shopping within easy walking distance. A good place to stay.
Her cat is well mannered, but I'd suggest that anyone having an allergy to cats let her know in advance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We are pretty discriminating travelers and the stay was so exceptional due to the Inn Keeper. Alicia has created an authentic and yet up to date home that is so welcoming and accommodating to the most experienced traveler. The house has character and the bedding is fabulous and luxurious in a spacious room with lots of amenities. The best part was our Inn Keeper who is a fabulous cook and served amazing local produce breakfasts and wine in the afternoon. Alicia is planning to serve High Tea in the Fall and that would be a great treat!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ppalombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 7 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rondout Inn
Rondout Inn
#3 of 7 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Kingston Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Kingston Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Kingston Bed & Breakfast
Address: 131 Fair St, Kingston, NY 12401-4801
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Kingston Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your A Kingston Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing