We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun to choose a bunch of small bites!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Elephant
Ranked #35 of 208 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fun to choose a bunch of small bites!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Love that the menu has a great variety of options. Portions are tapas like, but enough to share. 4 of us ordered 10 things and it was perfect amount. Some things we liked better than others, but that is the fun of sampling. The chef takes great care with preparation, that is obvious. Space is cramped, wine list is good!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigtopboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We shared a few yummy dishes and there was a decent wine list. I had a Malbec that hit the spot. My only complaint was the dessert menu was a little lacking.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maur11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Clarendon, Vermont
Level Contributor
120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This tiny gem of a restaurant tucked away in charming uptown Kingston is one of our favorite dining destinations. Anything you order from the ever-changing tapas menu is sure to delight. This past weekend we shared small plates of snails on toast, delectable roasted bone marrow, sausage with white beans and perfectly spiced lamb meatballs with a dollop of whipped cheese. Each was excellent. Try any of the reasonably priced specials, you simply cannot go wrong! Can't wait to be in the area again for a return visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lizinvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our New Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

As someone who spends most of their time in a restaurant, the last thing I want to do is go to one after I leave work. In this area I have gotten bored with standard menus and the items on them are things that I can just whip up and home. My partner and I have been going to the Elephant almost every week now and we are thrilled. From the moment you walk in the door there is very kind attention to you; the servers are very knowledgable and have great personality. The food has all been excellent, each dish is has been thought through and cared for. The specials change regularly and that keeps it exciting. We usually eat way too much because we do not want to miss out on anything. Thank You Elephant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You Are Going to Enjoy this Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This wonderful restaurant in uptown Kingston has been voted the Best Restaurant for Tapas in the Hudson Valley for several years in a row. Taste anything on the interesting menu that regularly changes and you will not be disappointed. The small plates are fun to share and their low prices makes it enjoyable to order several things. Owners Rich and Maya have created a wonderful addition to Ulster County Be sure to save room for the desserts which are just the right size. Also, the French press coffee is delicious, Also, available is a varied wine list. If you are not sure which to choose, just ask your server.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephant also viewed

 

Been to Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing