We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great day on the Hudson”

Hudson River Cruises, Inc.
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.50*
and up
Hudson River Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the majestic Hudson River aboard the M/V Rip Van Winkle. Enjoy narrated cruises past quaint lighthouses, great estates, and a magnificent view of the Catskill Mountains. Weekends in the summertime offer sunset cruises, live music and DJ Dance Cruises as well as dinner cruises and special theme events. The Rip Van Winkle makes the perfect venue for cocktail receptions, weddings, family events, corporate outings and anything in between!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Cortlandt Manor
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great day on the Hudson”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Decided to look at the fall leaves from the Hudson River. Took a tour on the Rip Van Winkle Hudson River Cruises. A great way to view the Hudson. Saw beautiful lighthouses ( yes lighthouses) on the Hudson and beautiful mansions. The boat is clean and they even serve drinks and food on board. Had a great hot apple cider and spiced rum cocktail! Great tour on the river. The crew is very friendly and there there is even some commentary to let you know what you are seeing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueangels31664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    67
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
170 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

The boat ride on the Hudson River was beautiful. I would highly recommend taking this cruise during the fall to see all the amazing colors. The staff was polite and informative. The seats were not to close together so you can feel comfortable on your journey. I learned a lot about the history of the Hudson River and enjoyed the beautiful weather of a lovely October day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank momma225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relax and enjoy the sites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

The boarding area for MV Rip Van Winkle is under a bridge. You will cruise part of the Hudson river, with all the scenic views and houses along this part of the river. You will learn about the history of the area. The crew is friendly and helpful. I normally do not buy an ship photos but the ships photographer will get some shot you will like to buy, I did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fatkoalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Okay, But Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I don't see why so many reviewers have gushed about this cruise. Wherever we go, if there's a body of water around we go on a cruise, and this one was, I thought, pretty mediocre.
It's not really the fault of the cruise line; it's just not that appealing a route. There's not that much to see; it's pretty much an unbroken mass of trees with now and then a dot high up on the hill which is some rich person or other's mansion. I imagine children would get bored very quickly and become restless. I'm sure the scenery would be a beautiful sight during foliage season, but no doubt the boat will be very crowded during that period of time.
The boat is comfortable enough, and the price is reasonable. The Hudson River is, however, pretty unattractive. The water is brown and murky. Along the shores of the harbor where the Rip Van Winkle is docked are many abandoned and decrepit vessels, and everything is covered with disgusting vegetation. Debris floats around everywhere.
As I said, it's not the fault of the cruise line, but no one seems to care about maintaining the river, at least this part of it. I wouldn't call it an unpleasant experience, but the next time I visit the area, taking this cruise won't be on my list of things to do.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Eagle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Scenic tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Spent 2 hours on the Rip Van Winkle this afternoon. Beautiful views of the area including lighthouses and mansions from the turn of the 20th century. Would recommend if looking for a relaxing afternoon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson River Cruises, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Hudson River Cruises, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing