We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kingston NY Mini Vacation”

Hudson River Cruises, Inc.
Book In Advance
More Info
$26.50*
and up
Hudson River Sightseeing Cruise
Ranked #1 of 9 Tours in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Explore the majestic Hudson River aboard the M/V Rip Van Winkle. Enjoy narrated cruises past quaint lighthouses, great estates, and a magnificent view of the Catskill Mountains. Weekends in the summertime offer sunset cruises, live music and DJ Dance Cruises as well as dinner cruises and special theme events. The Rip Van Winkle makes the perfect venue for cocktail receptions, weddings, family events, corporate outings and anything in between!
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Boston MA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Kingston NY Mini Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

My wife and I went on the Rip Van Winkle for a 2 hour boat ride up and down the Hudson river seeing the big houses and light house on the river was great. They serve food (ie. Hot Dogs) and drinks (beer, wine, soft drinks). Definitely worth the money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MeterReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    67
    15
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Boat Ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

I always enjoy a boat ride, and this is a nice way for visitors to see the Hudson up close and personal. Haven't been in awhile, but we've had relatives as well as international guests. Fun for the whole family

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Do it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

This two hour tour is full of history, wildlife, and just plain relaxation. The entire opertion is professionally run and all that I encounterd were pleasant and helpful. We purchased our tickets online to avoid any line. I recommend sitting on the second deck (depending on time of year and weather) and start on the starboard side (right side) Going south torwards Hyde Park the points of interest will be on your right side. Of course everyone tends to roam around the boat as you get going, so don't worry so much about "securing" a spot. They have a nice bar and food is available to enhance your experience. Overall, a great thing to do. I would say that this is not the most exciting thing for young children, so I would think about bringing something to entertain them while on the boat. Have fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank daveanddonna_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camdenton, Missouri
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“River Views Aboard the Rip Van Winkle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We try to see a city from the harbor, ocean, lake and river whenever possible. We've enjoyed these other perspectives in Savannah, Charleston, New York City, and now upstate New York. Kingston, NY is a charming village with New England architecture and a fine park along the shore where people gathered to learn salsa dancing on the day we were there. We stayed in Fishkill, NY but easily reserved and paid for tickets online so our spot was secured before we began driving. The staff from ticket office to harbor crew and captain were personable and helpful. The cruise ship is also clean with park-bench seating. The absolutely perfect, clear temperate day helped us enjoy the cruise along the Hudson where we glimpsed fine old grand homes, learned about business ventures along the shores, and floated near small lighthouses. Birders will love the birds in view. Sailboats completed the picturesque scenes.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RetiredTired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
larabe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing boat ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is a nice boat ride on the hudson. Good size boat but not over crowded. You learn about the history of the husdon. You will see wild life, which is nice. You will see nice homes. They have food and drink aboard. They also have a shaded area. It nice to sit back and watch the sites. Also, if you bring a camera one of the staff will take your picture no charge.. They also take your picture as you board the boat, that they will charge if you want to keep it. Either way is nice. The have booze cruises and bands on the boat.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank larabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hudson River Cruises, Inc. also viewed

 

Been to Hudson River Cruises, Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing