We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, well kept suites”
Review of Rondout Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rondout Inn
Ranked #2 of 8 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

First, it's not easy to find. It's only possible by watching building addresses. There are only two rooms, or more correctly, suites. One on the second floor and one on the third over an antique shop. There is no sign. Secondly, do not be misled by the picture on the webpage. The building is not across from the water, it is a couple of blocks up from the water. Not a problem, but just be aware. That being said, it is very clean, very well maintained, furnished, and comfortable...and quiet. It was a little surprising that with the third floor unit, there was not really a second exit other than climbing through very small back windows out onto a roof (in the event that the front stairs were to become blocked). Complete kitchen with coffee (only regular), tea and even coffee creamer in the refrigerator and some sherry in a decanter.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 29, 2012

We are sorry that the guests had trouble finding us. But we are surprised since the first line of our description on our website does say the inn is 3 blocks up from the waterfront. On our email confirmation we also tell incoming guests to come into our Antique store (on the ground floor) where we check guests in. We will have to take extra steps to let guests know we are on Broadway, not on the Strand.

As to no other exit from the 3rd floor apartment, most of the buildings in the 1800's were all small and had no other exit. other than rear windows. Our building is very typical of all the other buildings in the waterfront. district and is maintained to be historically correct.

We do appreciate comments from our guests and strive to keep the Rondout Inn very clean and comfortable. And because we ARE 3 blocks up from the water, our guests are able to enjoy peace and quiet and not be disturbed by the noise of the bars and restaurants along the waterfront.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 48 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2010

My wife and I went to Kingston to celebrate our anniversary, as Kingston was the place I proposed. This was by far the best place we stayed at in Kingston. The service and staff were wonderful. First, they were extremely helpful in helping to arrange the delivery of flowers to the room, and then they were just incredibly nice and accommodating and provided a few nice treats for the room.

The location is nice, right on the Kingston waterfront. One of the best things about the stay was the room. The room was spacious, clean, and beautiful with a lot of antique furniture, a nice kitchen, and a comfortable bed.

This will most certainly be the place we stay at the next time we come to Kingston, NY.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheConfusedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

We couldn't have asked for more...our apartment/suite at the Rondout was perfect for our perfect weekend! A small kitchen and private bath, a bedroom, sitting room and living room with a pull out sofabed was spotless & beautifully decorated. Yummy breakfast was left for us in the kitchen. BC and Larry are the perfect hosts....even the desert wine left for us was a nice touch. This is not your typical B & B or Inn-but...if you're looking for a charming place to stay in the middle of town AND have lots of space & your privacy too-this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We loved staying at this historic inn. Our hosts, Larry and BC thought of everything to make this special occasion as nice as could be. Our great great grandfather had a home on this same street in the 1860’s. We were here for a family reunion celebrating 155 years in the United States. We will come again! Many Thanks, Doris

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dorisNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
925 reviews
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
62 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Forsyth B&B
The Forsyth B&B
#1 of 8 in Kingston
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Church des Artistes Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rondout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rondout Inn

Address: 79 Broadway, Kingston, NY 12401-6017
Location: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: $174 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rondout Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience a very private, enjoyable stay in one of the unique apartments at the Rondout Inn. Owners, Larry and BC are more than happy to share their knowledge of the local area's restaurants, shops, and happenings. The Rondout Inn is a fully renovated, circa 1820 3-story Federal style townhouse located just 2 blocks from the bustling Kingston waterfront. Relax and unwind in the luxury of a spacious apartment suite instead of being confined to a single room. All apartments are uniquely and lovingly decorated and furnished in an eclectic mix of antiques, contemporary furniture, vintage art and books. Pamper yourself with all the modern amenities and enjoy free Wi-Fi and free Netflix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Rondout Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing