We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“uncontrolled partying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Mechanicsville, Virginia
1 review
“uncontrolled partying”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Aug. 3 of 2013 my wife and I stayed here while visiting relatives. The room across from us had several loud screaming people who partied till 5:00am. I called front desk 3x during the night, to no avail. I visited the front desk in the AM, and they said someone would call later in the day. Called the next day and returned 1/2 of our room charge. That was not fair; but, the hotel never returned any more calls.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    51
    49
    70
See reviews for
47
48
4
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I don't have alota time, so I'll just write the highlights.
great service
great staff
comfortable
homie
nice
actually beatiful
12 out of 1 to 10
thank you staff of hudson valley I had the time of my life

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful time at this place! Highlights:

* free, good coffee at 4pm -- NICE
* relaxed vibe all the way around; very welcoming
* every single staff person was super nice and helpful
* the breakfast was included and delicious! The fresh fruit was really high quality and the eggs made to order had a lot of choices
* despite the high activity with the all the convention groups, the hotel staff planned the layout of room assignments really well -- our end was very quiet
* this place is an excellent location and close to everything
* the air conditioners were easy to work
* we had fresh chocolate covered strawberries in our room when we arrived! That was so cool and wonderful!

Suggestions:
* oatmeal as a choice at breakfast would be really great
* more help cleaning up the lobby areas in the early a.m.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a very nasty and unkempt Hotel. To call it a resort and Spa is a lie! This faciity is outdated and filthy. THe carpeting through out the facility is disgusting. The facility is dank and dark with very little natural sun light inspite of the beautiful grounds. The rooms are infested with Bedbugs and the Linen appears to be dated and poorly maintained. While staying in this terrible location on a group trip many of the person who attened were plaqued with bedbug bites. Many people had to return home to be seen by physicians to address the issues.
The Spa area and the gym that supposedly consists of pingpong tables and indoor pools is so old it appears to be ready to throw in the trash. The pool area is adorned with furnishing that it old mildewed and stained. All of the furiture in the facility is adorned with stains. Sitting on the furniture that is couch like is risk. During my stay every area promoted me to itch and feel uncomfortable.
The areas set up as a restaurant is not well maintained. The chairs are stained in this area as well. During my stay a hair was even found in the food. The wait staff while very nice appeared to be very dirty . They were seen dealing with food without hair nets or gloves. The kitchen area had a roller bed, microwave and stained chair adorned by a old disgusting blanket sitting right outside the kitchen area near the bathrooms.
I would not recommend this location to anyone. The facility is a dump. Dont bring you or your family here unless you want to leave with extra home quests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lesia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason K, Manager at Hudson Valley Resort and Spa, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. We take reports of pest activity at our property very seriously, and we sincerely regret if your stay was anything less than exceptional.

I must assure you that our property is absolutely 100% free of bedbugs. We contract a professional pest management company to provide regular inspection and service of our hotel and guestrooms each week, whether this service is required or not. While this aggressive program is a considerable expense for us, the health and safety of our guests remains our absolute priority.

I have reviewed the incident report you completed while staying at our property which indicates “two insect bites: left forearm and right ankle”. I also noticed that this report was filed at 3 AM on the first night of your stay, immediately following your group’s late night party with open bar which occurred at our outdoor pool.

According to the CDC’s bedbug fact-sheet, bites will not become apparent for at least 24 hours after exposure, and typically appear in clusters of 3 or more. This suggests to me that the discomfort you experienced was likely due to mosquito bites acquired poolside.

I personally inspected the room number listed on the incident report, and found absolutely no evidence of insect activity; in an abundance of caution, however, we have asked our pest control company to treat the room regardless.

I do sincerely apologize if our décor was not to your liking, but I must take exception to your repeated exaggeration of fact. The Hudson Valley Resort & Spa is a historic property, and we take pride in providing our guests with an exceptional experience.

Our maintenance and housekeeping staff work tirelessly to ensure that all articles and areas are clean, orderly, and in good repair. While we have received nothing but thanks and accolades from the other attendees of your group’s event, we do regret that we failed to meet your personal expectations. However, your descriptive portrayal of the condition and cleanliness of the Resort is simply inaccurate and is clearly intended to offend.

We invite our guests to inspect their room and the property at check in, and to speak directly with Management if they have any concerns. This allows us to immediately take corrective measures to address any problems before they occur, and helps to ensure the continued comfort of our guests and their enjoyment of our resort amenities.

We are a service driven resort, and are happy to go out of our way to help each guest make the most of their stay. I do hope that you will choose to return to our property and see for yourself just how enjoyable staying at the Hudson Valley Resort & Spa can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kerhonkson hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was here for a college retreat. The rooms were god awful, broken TV, broken furniture, broken bed, ripped bed sheets, lighting fixtures leaking water, to name a few. The pools were decent, the golf course as well. The only great thing about this place besides the view was the wait staff. The wait staff were all very helpful, cheerful, and willing to serve. Hopefully they will be able to get better jobs once this awful place closes down.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aking151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchung, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I went for a short visit primarily for golf and swimming. The resort has a beautiful outdoor pool well maintained by a person putting a lot of effort in. There is also an indoor pool and exercise room which we enjoyed.

The golf course needed more resources devoted to it, but the pro was very friendly and helpful. The cost was very low, and we were able to play as a twosome which made it more fun for us.

The staff was nice, but not well trained. We got lost looking for our room, and we had to carry our suitcases upstairs. There was no offer of a bellhop or someone to help us with our stuff.

Once we got there, the TV didn't work, so we changed rooms. Internet was supposed to be available, but we could not get it in our room.. Because we were only there for a couple of days it wasn't a big deal. We could connect in the lobby, and we had our smartphones for emails.

One other thing: there was no restaurant or coffee shop on premises, and no coffee pot in the room. If you were with a group, you could arrange for catering, but if you were just a couple, my advice would be to bring at least some snacks and your old immersion heater and instant coffee:)

Their no cancellation policy is kind of crazy when there are virtually no guests during the week.

Room Tip: if you have much luggage, make sure you ask for the rooms with an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Must have been a beautiful palace when the Catskils were the Catskils. Now it needs lots of fixes and repairs. The staff is friendly and tries to please. If you need to be in the area, not a bad value for the price. Go with low expectations and use it as a base to stay, but enjoy the Hudson Valley outdoors as much as possible. Decent for an old property.

Room Tip: Newer is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bendavidNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
4.5 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
325 reviews
3.1 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
8.5 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
109 reviews
20.1 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
16.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson Valley Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson Valley Resort and Spa

Property: Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Address: 400 Granite Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-3557
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hudson Valley Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hudson Valley Resort & Spa is a premier resort destination in the Hudson Valley Catskills region. Nestled in the heart of the beautiful Shawangunk Mountains and surrounded by gorgeous Catskill views, we offer a challenging 18-hole championship golf course, full service health spa, and a state of the art conference center.Set on more than 400 wooded acres adjacent to Minnewaska State Park, this recently renovated historic Catskill Resort offers 270 rooms and suites and 41,000 sq. ft. of luxurious conferencing, ballrooms, meeting and banquet space. Our spectacular setting is enhanced by a challenging, 18-hole, par 71 championship golf course which is as demanding as it is beautiful. After the 18th hole, relax with a visit to our European health Spa. Treatments range from Swedish, Hot Stone, and sports massages to European facials and hair and body treatments. Other resort amenities include indoor and outdoor pools, Tennis Courts, Fitness Centers, Basketball Courts, Arcade Center, Children's Playground, Mini-Golf and More!Centrally located in the heart of the Shawangunks, surrounded by the fabled Catskill Mountains, and perfectly situated for enjoying all that the Hudson Valley has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hudson Valley Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hudson Valley Hotel Kerhonkson
Hudson Valley Resort And Spa Kerhonkson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing