We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will Not Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will Not Return”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

My husband and I took my daughter and three grandchildren as a small vacation to the Pinegrove Ranch. The website made it look wonderful. It's discription of the ranch and the activities listed really made it sound like a lot of fun. The highlight of the three days was the Outdoor Pool and the Horseback riding. The facility itself was dirty and very unappealing. The rooms are very outdated and have a musty offensive smell which is partly from the water supply there and the other from the fact that the furniture and carpets are old and need to be replaced. The carpets, even the ones in the main lobby when you walk in are dirty. The indoor pool shouldn't even be utilized. It is in a basement and has very poor lighting. There are windows, but did not provide ample lighting and was very dingy. The Archery range, which was one of the things my grandson and husband were looking forward to using was a joke. It was a little tiny space inside of a building. You could only use the bows provided which were like the ones you find in a toy store. The targets they provided were in very poor shape. There was suppose to be a Lazer Tag room, but the days we were there no one was available. We did look in the room which was again a little area that was not comfortable to be in. The outdoor activities, such as dodge ball did not allow for children to play against other children their age. Adults and children played at the same time and the older children and adults took over and the younger children didn't have a chance at the ball. The rock climbing wall was nothing more than 3 boards about 12-15 feet high in a triangular shape enclosed inside a small fenced in area. The safety belts look very old looking and some of them were broken. There was only one person helping out so only one side of the wall could be utilized. The breakfast menu was better then the dinner menu. There was plenty of food, but not very tasty. The food was pre-made and had very little flavor. The fact that you order came out in minutes tells you that the meals were made ahead of time and then served when you sat down. The lunch menu, which was part of the meal plan included in the price you paid per person each day, was terrible. It consisted of the complementary snack bar and they added thin crusted pizza (frozen and heated) and pre-made sub sandwiches. Good for kids, but not at all healthy. The ranch needs some major repairs and rennovations. I should have known better when they told me I would have to pay in full when I checked in. Once they got your money they were satisfied. They wouldn't care if you left. I would never recommend this place to anyone and if some one asked me about it I would tell them to look somewhere else.

  • Liked — Outdoor Pool
  • Disliked — Rooms, Food and most of the activities
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Pink1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    319
    106
    101
    229
See reviews for
771
55
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Just got back from Pinegrove Ranch and we had so much fun! We had a large group and after reading the reviews were definitely wary of what we were going to find. We were pleasantly surprised that the reviews did not at all reflect what we found when we got there. All of our rooms were clean (we had 9 all together) they were definitely a little dated, but the rooms were tidy and both the bathrooms and bedding were clean. The water did have a sulfur-y smell, but it was not unbearable. The hotel provided bottled drinking water in the rooms, dining areas and pretty much anytime you asked for it. The common areas in the ranch were excellent, staff was friendly and went out of their way to be helpful in any way possible. There were tons of activities for all ages, and everyone had a blast from start to finish. We had no trouble signing up for trail rides, and the staff accomodated our beginners as well as our advanced riders with flying colors. The lessons and pony rides for my 4 year old were great, pretty much went over whenever she wanted. Meals in the dining room were excellent- breakfast was the best! I truly cannot understand the horrible reviews this place gets- I think the people who write the bad ones are expecting the Four Seasons hotel or something. Pinegrove definitely could use some updates, but if you are looking for a place to have family fun, I would definitely recommend it!

  • Liked — activities, horseback lessons, pool and waterslides
  • Disliked — water, could use some updating
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sully177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2008

Biggest drawwback: no apparent sprinkler system and very few smoke alarms! What a fire/smoke dilemma! My daughter and I saw the Montana room online and chose this room because of its attractive photo. When we got to the resort, we were given a room with "soggy" floors and a drop ceiling that was stained and about to fall down. The carpeting throughout the resort was filthy and smelled like urine. Our tub had stains and a loud, continuous drip. When I turned on the water it came out brown!! The sink was cracked all around the drain. When my daughter flushed the toilet it smelled like sewer. I was sorely disappointed to find the room was not at all like the one portrayed on the website for the amount of money we paid. I asked for a better room and was given a choice from three others. Our new room was nicer, but...our bathroom was not cleaned suffieciently. There were hairs from the previous occupant in the shower for the whole week we were there! The mirror had writing and spittle on it all week and the toilet was not cleaned. As for the room, itself, the carpets were barely vacuummed ( I left some threads on the floor on purpose just to check) and the sheets were not changed every day (my daughter's sheets had a stain that never left) and the pictures had mold all around the frames! Our air conditioner broke on the 4th day which was promptly replaced with a quiet one that worked. Many activities were held in the lobby; they really do need a large room for Bingo, arts & crafts, etc. On the better side, the staff was polite and accommodating. The horseback riding was good, and there were plenty of activities to keep you busy in general and as part of their day to day schedules. We saw two entertainers and found them quite fascinating. The indoor pool was clean but very poorly lit as was the indoor mini golf area. The palyground had some broken, shoddy equipment but the outdoor pool was clean. There were two life guards on duty at all times for both pools. Many of the windows had no (or broken) screens and that doesn't work for the amount of flies on a ranch. We did have two free bottles of water in our bathroom every day and a large bottle with dinner every night which we hoarded and used for brushing our teeth. In summary, Osha and a health inspector need to check this place out. A major update is in order!

  • Liked — Horseback riding and variety of foods per day.
  • Disliked — Lack of sprinklers, cleanliness, and modernization.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Mima4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kerhonkson hotels

Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Our family celebrated our parents 50th wedding anniversary here. If you are going to Pinegrove Ranch expecting a four star hotel/restaurant experience-you should not travel to a "dude" ranch. The accommodations are not the "Ritz" but our rooms were clean and the staff was always there to help. The water does have a sulfur smell, but the hotel makes up for it by providing bottled water in your room, in the dining halls, and if you ask for it at the front desk. Every person from the oldest (70-ish) to the youngest (4-ish) had a great time. There was something to do for everyone. Our family brought home lots of great memories and lots of laughs. It is something we will be talking about for a while. If we went on the reviews we read-we probably would have cancelled. So glad we didn't!

  • Liked — amount of activties offered
  • Disliked — smelly water
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Our family loved this ranch! We had three kids with us: a 2 year old, 3 and 4 year old. We read the reviews before we went and were terrified if what we would be staying in. We were so pleasantly surprised. This is a 50 year old dude ranch, you have to go for the atmosphere, obviously most people on this site were expecting the Hilton. We were warmly greeted by a lovely lobby and the people that work there were very accomodating and did any and everything that we asked them to. Our children were NEVER bored, there is so much for them to do. The DJ at night and the nightly shows were the highlight for the children. The food was great, and we were full from the moment we got there until the moment we left.
If you are looking for somewhere to go to enjoy time as a famiily with tons of acitivities, this is the place for you. If you are looking for a hotel with lavish accomodations this isn't the place for you!
We loved it!

  • Liked — Tons of acitivites
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kristiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2008

This was the worst experience my family has ever had with a resort/lodge. Our room actually had grafitti on the wood panel abovet he entry way in our room. The hotel is old yes but it is not kept up and it smells moldy. The entertainment is cheap and inappropriate jokes for a family. The food was tasteless although plentiful.

The dude part of the experience was minimal since the front desk does not talk to the stable folks. Young children really cannot ride a pony unless they wait hours - for heavens sakes just schedule the pony rides. The lake, paddle boats and fishing were all ok - nothing spectacular.

Limited activities like camp fire, bingo and arcade were all ok. The pool was the best part - although I'm not sure it was all that clean. The kiddle pool was closed.

The disgrace was really the stables which you cannot enter and would not want to enter - flyes everywhere and very dark. Wonder if New York has laws on animal cruelty. The petting zoo was small and not well maintained.

Yuk for lodging, Yuk for dude part of experience and Yuk for food.

Stay away from this place.

  • Liked — The ride home
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2008

Wow. What an experience. I visited this "rustic" (I'm being generous, here) resort with some friends. Upon entering my room, I was shocked to find that the tiles from the false ceiling were falling down, squirrels were running around INSIDE the walls, and the water smelled like there was a sewer leak somewhere. The toilet rocked from side to side and front to back, too. I thought I was taking a shower in filth, because of the gagging stench from the water. (They use this smelly water to make all the beverages here....so either bring lots of change for the vending machines, or bring your own water!) Incidentally almost every piece of furniture.... everywhere...was filthy and worn out, the carpets needed a serious cleaning; I think you get the point here.

A rude front-desk staff seemed to be the norm, as well. I'll give you a scenario that I personally witnessed. You be the judge of whether or not you want to waste your money and risk your family's safety to go here. This "family friendly" resort doesn't even have a first aid kit! Yes, you read that correctly. I witnessed a conversation between a guest and the front desk clerk where the guest was asking for, or to purchase, some gauze wrap or an ace bandage. Evidently, someone in her group had turned their ankle and had a simple, non-life threatening injury. When she asked if there was any gauze or bandages, "NOPE" was the answer she received. She then asked if there was a first aid kit. Again, "NOPE." The ignorant moron from the front desk never even got off his rearend when addressing this individual. Nice, huh? I guess management figures that since you sign a waiver, that eliminates them from having to provide any kind of basic first aid OR compassion. Fortunately, another guest that was there chaperoning several handicapped individuals had some gauze wrap and was, thankfully, able to help the person with the injured ankle. That's right....ANOTHER GUEST HELPED AN INJURED PINEGROVE GUEST. Absolutely unbelievable.

To the owners, I suggest this. Promptly get a serious grip. Fire the rude, disrespectful people you have under your employ, hire some quality housekeeping, obtain an exterminator and work hard...really hard, at turning this "resort" back into what your current brochure falsely depicts. Most importantly, for the safety of every visitor... especially children and the elderly... INVEST IN A FIRST AID KIT!

Needless to say, when asked by others if we would return for another stay, we gave the same reply that the front desk clerk had no problem muttering......"NOPE".

  • Liked — The breakfast meal was acceptable
  • Disliked — Just about everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3inMansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Property: Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing