We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pinegrove - still the place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pinegrove - still the place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We went to Pinegrove for Veteran's Day Weekend. And, as always, had a wonderful time. The riding was perfect, the rooms are nice and clean and the service is always A #1.
The entire staff is so pleasant and helpful. We always feel welcomed when we go.
We had a great long weekend. Got to enjoy riding every day, the specially planned activities and the shows at night. It is a great way to relax and "kick back" and just have fun.

We are planning our next long weekend for the Spring.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: We always take the Santa Fe rooms as they are far away from all the activity and much quieter, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
This was the 1st year we offered Wounded Warriors FREE and 50% OFF for Active Military in addition to our 10% Veteran's discount. The long weekend went very well, I enjoyed the Fire Pit and the BBQ Hoedown Dinner.

Thanks for being our guest!

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    319
    105
    100
    228
See reviews for
769
55
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Point, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I can't say enough about how fun our weekend was. All of the employees were happy, eager to please and truly care about our stay! Can not wait to go back!!!! The meals were all delicious, the activities were fun, there were many to choose from. The kids loved the Coke-tail party! Halloween weekend was lots of fun! Kids really enjoyed the horse back ride too! Next time they want to try paint ball!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Linda,

Big Thanks, so many employees work very hard to make it all happen. It's great to get positive feedback and encourages us to do 110% for the next guests.

Paintball is lots of fun, 2 1/2 hour scenario games that are organized daily and SAFE! This Fall we added Zombie Paintball Raids at night, it was a big hit on Halloween weekends.

See you soon,

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This was our first time visiting Pine Grove. I was looking for something fun to do with my family online and came across the ranch. They were offering amazing deals that we just couldn't pass it up. We went in November and were very lucky that the weather was mild. When we first came into the main building we were welcomed with smiles and very pleasant employees. Check in was easy and we were upgraded to a larger room. The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. My son was very excited to see that they had an extensive list of activities. Your child not be bored. This was the first vacation that my husband and I took that we did not have to entertain our son. He had sooooo many children to play with. He made friends that minute he walked in. They have a neat pool with slides and many outdoor activities. They offer plenty to eat. You will not go hungry. It is not 5 star meals, but they are very good (beats cooking everyday). The horse barn staff are very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the tractor hay ride and walking the grounds. Each night they had a cocktail hour and snacks before dinner ( the first night was a chocolate fountain! ) and nightly entertainment. We made friends with a group from the Island and had a great time singing and hanging out in the Saloon. My son had a great time playing all the games and winning Ranch Rewards that he was able to use in the gift shop. I gave it five starts because it is a great value for what you get! We had such a great time that we took advantage of the great summer deal that they are offering! Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Family Fun Vacations at Affordable Prices...that is our goal with every rate, special and offer. So glad to hear you gave Pinegrove a try and booked again foe Summer! Repeat guest reservation is the bar to which we strive for each guest.

Summer will be great fun, we have many new activities in the "works".

See you than,

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at Pinegrove, it was amazing in so many ways. We were unsure about how our stay would be based on reading reviews but we went in with an open mind & I'm so glad we did! The staff was exceptional, especially Geoff and the barn staff; Mike, Flynn, Jess, Kelley and Lindsey. Our four girls aged 16 to 7 never once complained about being bored. There are so many activities in addition to riding, you can be busy from morning til night or you can relax with a good book if that's your thing.

Many negative reviews mention the food and rooms, it is sad that people focus on that rather than what they are getting for their money. No the rooms are not Five star, but they are clean and comfortable. With the number of activities offered we spent so little time in our room, I would have hated to pay for a five star room! The food is decent, breakfast is good, at lunch you have many options served cafeteria style, and dinner fills you up. Again the meals are not five star, but please keep in mind how little you are paying for your entire trip. The cocktail parties nightly are a blast!

What it boils down to is this: Pinegrove offers an extremely affordable all inclusive vacation. When you figure out what you pay per person and compare it to other vacations, this is a steal! No it is not a posh resort, but you are not being charged for that. They do not "nickel and dime" you as some have said. I will gladly pay for soda and riding in order to keep the over all cost down for everyone. If you are looking for the "Ritz", you will be disappointed and should spend 3x as much to stay elsewhere. If you are looking for for a place that will make your kids smile and laugh, adults feel like kids again & help you make memories that will last a lifetime then this is your place. There is no where else you can go for so little money and leave with so much. We are looking forward to coming back is summer and are bringing friends with us. A big thanks to Pinegrove!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grant-Gang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for being our guest and posting on Tripadvisor. Pinegrove is great for families that want to have a fun, active family vacation without breaking the bank. In the end its all about value; activities, entertainment, meals, facilities and programs designed for toddlers to grandparents add tremendous value.

We hope to get the chance to have your family back at the Ranch. Thanks again,

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had another greatThanksgiving weekend .Arrived on WED afternoon and left for home sunday . everything about this time was wonderful. Our grandkids had a ball they were busy all day and nite . Pine Grove is the only place we have ever stayed where the owner helped cooked the turkeys Thanks to David and the whole crew for a great time See you again next year Wallace family

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thanksgiving at the Ranch is always a special time for family fun. I enjoy carving turkeys with the kitchen staff, we cooked 54 turkeys and all the trimmings. The families that return year after year, create a very "country home" feel for all the guests. First timers become Pinegrove friends by day two and join in activities and chats with fellow guests.

Thanks for enjoying the Holidays with us and we wish you a wonderful New Year!

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Husband wanted to take a trip to a dude ranch for a while so we finally went for his birthday weekend. It was just the two of us and we had a great time. I'd read poor reviews after I'd booked the trip so I was wary but immediately upon arrival we wondered aloud what people were talking about. The main lobby/reception area has really fun decor. When booking the room I mentioned my husband's birthday. We had an upgraded room with a fireplace and a banner, balloons & gift waiting for him. The food was good. I don't know why others complained. The meat was tender and not at all tough as others have said. We enjoyed our horse ride and the wranglers were attentive to my fear of not having been on a horse in 25yrs. The magician was a cute show but when he was done and the families retired for the night, the nightclub was dead. We made friends with a large group and listened to music with them in the main lounge area. There are many activities scheduled to round out the day. We will definitely be back with family & friends. A nice touch was the thank you note we received about a week after our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaureenMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Happy Birthday, again! Our housekeeper, Mery, and her staff deserves all the credit for those special touches. When she see, anniversary, birthday, honeymoon, sweet sixteen, etc. on the arrival chart...expect good things! So please let us know what's special to you and it will be special for us too!

Thanks for choosing Pinegrove and we look forward to serving you all, again.

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

We had been going to Rockin Horse dude Ranch for many years.. They were not able to accommodate us this year so I contacted Pinegrove & they WELCOMED us with open arms!!!! There were a bunch of us(25 rooms) that enjoyed the many activities.
Whether we played Bingo, trivia,went on Pony rides, tracker rides, horseback riding, made candy apples, bounced on the bounce pillow, played paintball or danced the night away, we had an AWESOME weekend.

Overall the food is good, the workers are nice, the rooms are clean and the memories are yours for the making!
We will be returning next year & plan on returning for years to come!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dakota room. It was clean & Spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
I admit, 30 rooms that had been going to RHR for 12 years had me a bit nervous! I worry, it's what I do - I worried about the rooms, meals, entertainment, everything. Then from the moment you all arrive, I new it was going to be great. What a fun group of families...parents and kids all joining in, meeting new friends, all HAPPY! It was truly a pleasure to serve all of you, next year we will do the 1st weekend in December.

Thank you, now you are all Pinegrove regulars!

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#2 of 5 in New Paltz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Property: Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Groupon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing