We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Family Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Went to Pinegrove last weekend and everyone had a great time. 2 adults, a 20, 16, and 13 year old. Stayed in Wyoming room #183 & 184. Rooms looked updated except for the bathrooms which were original 1970's....but they were very clean. New bedding in the rooms and sheets were clean and fresh. The beds were very comfy. I found all the employees there to be very friendly. Lunch was at the deli and snack bar. Deli sandwiches were good, kids loved the all day free hot dogs and ice cream. Breakfast and dinner in the dining room, food is ok. Dining room has been renovated, last time we were here, we had to share a table with other guests we didn't know, now it is diner style with booths. Much better. Other reviewers complained about the cleanliness....it really isn't as bad as they make it seem. Anyway, what do you expect, there are kids coming in and out all day, running around with food and snacks from the snack bar and from riding horses. The lobby areas must be cleaned at night or early in the morning because you can tell the rugs had been vacuumed. There were no strange odors in the lobby as someone else wrote in their review. Whatever issue they had with the sulphur odor in the water must have been corrected because I came prepared this time, with plenty of bottled water from home, but the water odor was gone.
Activities: There were plenty. Outdoor pool was great. Horseshoe contest, water balloon throw, bingo, karaoke in the lobby, marshmallow roast with the singing cowboy, horseback riding, outdoor bbq, free bloody mary's by the pool, just to name a few. But the best by far was the paintball games in the woods. $30 pp for 3 hours...well worth the price. At home in my area we pay at least $100 pp. The boys (20 & 13) are usually bored within a few hours, but they want to come back because of the paintball. The guy who runs it is great, he's all about safety, if you don't follow the rules you're out. The shows in the nightclub are fantastic. Great for the kids who get to sit on the floor and watch right up front.
Overall it was a great time for all. We will go back.
I've been to the "other ranch" everyone keeps mentioning on this site, really, the activities are the same, the nightly shows are the same (I already saw this juggler at the other place) The rooms are a little better, and the grounds are manicured, but you pay a hefty price for that. Over there the 20 yr old is bored after 1/2 a day. Like I said it was all about the paintball and snack bar for him.
If you know how to relax and have a good time with your family, and if you're on a budget, this is really a great place. If you're looking for brand new rooms with granite bathrooms, spotless lobby and gourmet food, you need to go elsewhere so you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 4cips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

787 - 793 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2011

Long weekend over Fa\thers Day.
Too bad it rained a good part of the day. Nothing to do there accept for a board game which had some pieces missing. and pool tables - at a cost for this all-inclusive resort.
First look, very run down and looked like it hasn't been updated since it opened some 40 years ago. Although the shuffleboard looked like it was replaced with new tiles which was just about what we did the entire weekend besides the horseback ride.

Chuck Wagon was the place to eat once you checked in. Bring your own lunch, the hotdogs, hamburgers, fries and ice cream it served was low grade at best and the drink(lemonade, ice tea and water seemed to be all made with well water. There was bottled water and soft drinks available at a cost for this all-inclusive resort.

Breakfast was okay but not much to pick from although they wanted to cater as much as possible to diets. Saturday horseback ride was nice and fun for the family. Shuffeboard and pay for pool most of the day on Saturday. Tried archery at the 10 yard set up which was again very rundown. There was a softball field, but nothing set up as far as guest game.
Sunday we woke up to the crawling of ants on us and I think we brought some home in our bags.
We went horseback riding again and it was fun. But when we went to go to their last run at 1:00pm we were told it was a typo and there weren't any other horseback rides.

Barbecue on Sunday ended this venture for us and after talking with others who visited the Rocking Horse Dude ranch and praised what they had over Pinegrove we probably won't be going back to Pinegrove.

But if you are taken in by the competivie price, good luck !!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank toscajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Pinegrove is a great place. If your looking to go and just have fun and relax this is the place for you. The staff is excellent. Its a great vacation for all ages.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank touchngofarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

On Memorial week end our family of 10 went to Pine Grove Ranch. Every one of us, including our 4 grandchildren had a great time. Some of the rooms are not updated but it's a project they're working on. We were in Nevada and although our rooms have not been renovated yet, it was fine. There were more activities than we took advantage of. We did the horseback riding, archery and bingo but then it was a very warm afternoon so we went to the pool. Food was wonderful and the staff was friendly, courteous and helpful. It's a great family place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank thehoeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I work in a New York City school and we have taken 150 8th graders here as an end of the year trip for the last 5 years. Pine Grove is by far the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen in operation. The rooms are disgustingly filthy (see my photos) and almost in disrepair. If this place were in operation in any major city it would be condemned. The only positive of this nightmarish hotel used to be the horse ride. However this year our children were allowed a 9 minute ride (we actually timed it).

All the recreation areas are neglected at best, and more often a slap in the face of paying customers. The bows and arrows are all broken or warped and have been that way for 5 years. The baseball field is an overgrown lumpy mess without clear baselines. The bases are remnants of plastic garbage. I couldn't tell if the obstacle course was a bunch of garbage left in a field and the rock climbing wall is just sheets of plywood. Our students love to play basketball and for our trip on June 7th, they were painting the basketball court. This couldn't have been done in April before lots of schools come here? The only new thing that I have seen in 5 years of coming here is a ping pong table.

They booked at least 500 children from 4 or 5 schools on the day we went. The food line had 3 attendants to serve 500 kids. We were standing in the blazing sun for almost an hour to get some disgusting BBQ food that several kids tossed out after taking a taste. In addition, it was over 90 degrees and all the inside soda and water fountains were out of service. They made the kids buy drinks from soda machines just to stay hydrated.

I will NEVER again bring our school children here if I have anything to say about it. I recommend that New York City schools find another place for a field trip because Pine Grove does not deserve another penny. This report, while harsh is 100% honest and is backed up by my photos. Please ignore the positive reviews because anyone who speaks highly of this place must live in a homeless shelter.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank maxicutioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

My family went there for the Memorial day weekend and we loved it. If you are looking for a place where your children can have fun and this is it. Is small and cozy, the room was very big and they had a lot of horses. However, the food is not that good, but then again, they have what kids like which is hotdogs, ice cream, burgers, slushy, and so on... the italian restaurant was not that good, but everything else was Ok.
THE SHOWS WERE AWESOME, even for me that I am not into magic, the shows were incredible, they made me laugh and I definitely had a great time.

The only bad part was that the alcoholic drinks were not free, they were 5 or 6 dollars...but they were good!!!

Overall i am definitely returning with my family again!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Went with my daughters girl scout troop, advertised as a girl scout weekend. Must have also been advertised as a senior class trip weekend. Place is over run with teenagers, swearing, making out etc. Teens were pounding on our doors until 1am. We can't let the girls out of our sight. Activities are often closed or locked. Horse staff was rude and unhelpful. Food is gross. Facility is filthy, bed linens dirty, bathrooms filthy, rug moldy, stained. Cieling falling in, whole place is falling apart, rotting, broken.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank nerfdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
446 reviews
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.3 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: $377 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing