We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops in this location”

The Gander Inn Restaurant & Tavern
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tops in this location”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Excellent menu, with a huge variety including good seafood. We've eaten there three times, and enjoyed it each time. Delicious food -- some basic american fare, and great Fra Diablo. The staff is attentive and professional. There is a full bar, a room with pool tables and a table tennis room. For nice evenings, there is an outside porch.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    8
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Napanoch, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, After an Endless Wait”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Our party-of-four waited nearly two hours for our meal to arrive, despite repeatedly asking about the delay. Fortunately, we had lots of talking to do, but dinner guests at other tables simply got up and left in disgust when their food didn't show up. The promised serving of bread never did appear, nor did any of salads included in the price. A dish of penne included unwanted samplings of other pasta varieties, a cheese bearing no relationship to the dish, and a tomato sauce seemingly straight from the can. The barbecue ribs were tasty and tender, but accompanying "mashed" potatoes were tasteless, and contained huge lumps of, well, who knows what? We had great hopes for this much-needed new arrival in the area, but wild horses wouldn't bring us back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank garrwald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not enough food for price”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have eaten here since they opened
the food has always been delicious
saddened to see they no longer serve pizza
but after time portions have gotten extremely small for the price
we left still hungry
we loved the apple tart but it now is just more than a mouthful
very dissatisfied
will not return as much if at all

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank family1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcome addition to the area”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

There is a need, for sure, for a place to grab better-than-diner-food (not that there's anything wrong with a diner!) and this fills the bill. We have only tried the brunch, but were pleasantly satisfied with the selection, the food (fresh, fresh, fresh), the service, and the space itself. We'll definitely go back and try it for another meal. I've read many of the disappointing reviews, but we also had a chance to have a chat with the chef and it sounds as if this place has had a bit of a rocky start in terms of keeping good, consistent talent on board--he is the 7th head chef in less than a year. It sounds like they're really focusing on, well, focusing the business: he related that they've trimmed the menu to a reasonable and varied set of selections, which should correct what a lot of restaurants get wrong: trying to do too much and ending up with mediocre results. They are trying now to serve fewer dishes, but serve them all well... we wish them luck and hope they succeed!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elizmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I can't imagine returning”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Takes forever to get a meal! I think the owner bit off more than he can chew! This restaurant needs to pay close attention to it's customers. I waited over an hour and a half to get my order! Nothing seems to be organized either. Beautiful place but it seems to be failing miserably. I guess White Wolf is back to being my local fav.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Future_Chef2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gander Inn Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Kerhonkson, Catskill Region
Kerhonkson, Catskill Region
 
Kerhonkson, Catskill Region
Kerhonkson, Catskill Region
 
Kerhonkson, Catskill Region
Kerhonkson, Catskill Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing